Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Inner Evil [EP]
February 2013
Released: 2013, Svart Records
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Convulse have been around long enough to know how to produce top quality death metal, and Inner Evil, albeit a very small EP, perfectly showcases their supreme talent. Title track, Inner Evil, flutters seamlessly between heavy blast beats and relentless riffs, and sludgy, groovy and melodic breakdowns (for want of a better word). It creeps under your skin, sows the seed and gently but somehow forcefully shakes your inner core into submission, making you long for more. It is a beautifully formed death metal track with just the right balance of brutality, groove and melody. The vocals are fabulously sandpapery and rumble your bones, and the drum skills do not leave much room for improvement.

God is Delusion starts off with a creepy, Opeth-esque melodic guitar riff layered with complimentary bass and guitar riffs. The drums waste no time, however, in introducing themselves to the track with a brutal slap in the face of a riff. The vocals kick in and the riffs get off to a full galloping swing, which soon transitions into something altogether groovier (although the drum tone is slightly biscuit-tinny).

Another strong track that also shows off Convulse’s skills in perfectly mixing an almost doom/stoner type sludge with a face melting death metal blast. The consistency of the vocals ties it all in, saving both tracks from sounding disjointed. The guitar riffs, with their minor twists, sound delightfully creepy but can instantly become almost epic in the flick of a wrist. Before you know it, you’re listening to an all- out gloriously harmonised solo that wouldn’t sound out of place on an Opeth circa 1990’s album.

Inner Evil, as an EP, does the job it is supposed to; it leaves you wanting so much more.

I’m more than happy to give this EP a perfect score!

Review by Soozi Q
Track Listing

1. Inner Evil
2. God Is Delusion


Rami Jämsä: Guitar, Growls
Juha Telenius: Bass
Kristian Kangasniemi: Guitar
Rolle Markos: Drums

Other reviews

» Inner Evil [EP]
by UK Team

Next review: » Cook, Todd Jason (Director) - Death Metal Zombies (DVD)
Previous review: » Converge - Jane Doe

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.