Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Consortium Project IV
Children of Tomorrow
December 2007
Released: 2007, Metal Heaven/Border Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

This is the fourth album by Ian Parry’s Consortium Project. The last CP album came out in 2003 and since then he’s signed to a new label and added drummer Ivar de Graaf (ex- Within Temptation) to the CP family. The CP project has always been complex progressive metal paired up with power metal and progressive rock. The entire album has a grand and epic feeling revolving around Ian Parry’s amazing and dynamic voice. This album feels more melodic and less progressive compared to the previous ones. The music has some similarities with the progressive rock band Karmakanic which released an album a few years ago.

Ian Parry and Joshua Dutrieux wrote the 11 songs that tell a story, similar to Tobias Sammet’s Avantasia project. Parry sings most of the songs, but he has two female vocalists named Rosita Abbink and Erna auf der Mar that help him out. Kyrah Dutrieux is the storyteller who moves the story forward in between the songs.

CHILDREN OF TOMORROW is a great album and its fun to hear something different like the Consortium Project. The production is flawless and gives you the feeling this music deserves to have. Even though I don’t have any lyrics for the album, the material is able to stand on its own without lyrics. Parry has again delivered a strong and solid album and I hope to see another CP album coming out soon.
Track Listing

1. A Sign of the Times
2. Nowhere Fast
3. Neverland
4. Shadows
5. Exodus
6. Made in Heaven
7. Let the wind Carry You Home
8. Enigma
9. Mastermind
10. Path of Destruction
11. Children of Tomorrow


Ian Parry – lead vocals
Joshua Dutrieux – keyboards
Ivar de Graaf – drums
Henk van der Laars – guitar

Lou St. Paul – guitar
Rosita Abbink – female vocals
Erna auf der Mar – female vocals
Kyrah Dutrieux – spoken words
Judith Rijnveld – female choirs
Niels Vejylt – guitar
Marcel van der Zwam – bass

Other reviews

» Children of Tomorrow
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Conspiracy - 3000 Crosses
Previous review: » Consortium Project 3 - Terra Incognita (the undiscovered world)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.