Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Concept of God
March 2008
Released: 2007, Massacre Records/Sound Pollution
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

This is a side-project including members from the doom metal legends Solitude Aeternus from Dallas, Texas. Concept of God took form back in 1999 when Steve Moseley began to write material for a different project while his main band took a break. Moseley introduced his ideas to his co-member Lowe and he was psyched about doing something different together. In late 2000 they entered the studio and recorded nine tracks; they didn’t have time to record more because Solitude Aeternus were doing a new album. Seven years later, Concept of God is ready to be awakened and release its debut album.

Concept of God deliver faster doom metal; guitarist Moseley delivers rock-hard heavy riffs like there’s no tomorrow and all Lowe’s majestic and charismatic voice bring the material even higher. And if you’re into Solitude Aeternus at all then you’re gonna love this. They do an unexpected cover of the Rainbow classic “Man on the Silver Mountain” and they do it well. I’m into doom metal but I sometimes find it to be a little bit dreary and slow when it grinds on in the same tempo. Concept of God, however, doesn’t fall into that trap; their material includes a few up-tempo songs and the entire album is of a high standard.

The production is extremely heavy and dark as it should be. Lead vocals and guitars are the main focus and they really take the album to a higher level. I think this is what genuine and perfect doom should sound like, and contrary to many of the other bands in the genre, Concept of God’s debut does not feel long, slow and dreary. This band has managed to take doom metal a step forward and hopefully many other bands will be influenced by them. They have injected a well-needed dose of vitality in this often gloomy genre. I strongly recommend this to all hardcore fans of doom metal.
Track Listing

1. Past Perfect
2. Visions (nightmares)
3. Soul Embraces
4. Hearing Voices
5. Falling Down
6. Traces
7. Fire of Life
8. Unspoken
9. Man on the Silver Mountain (cover)


Robert Lowe – lead vocals
Steve Moseley – guitar
James Marlin – bass
John Covington – drums

Other reviews

» Visions
by Luxi Lahtinen

» Visions
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Conception - Flow
Previous review: » Concept of God - Visions

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.