Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Common Dead
Interim Flesh
January 2011
Released: 2011, APLaurenson Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

Common Dead is the creative outlet for multi-instrumentalist and composer Andrew Laurenson, who released the debut self titled offering last year through his own imprint APLaurenson Records.

INTERIM FLESH begins with the epic number "The Epiphany". This song is full of twists and turns, multiple shifts in tempo and introspective lyrics. As was the case with the debut release, Andrew lays down the gauntlet in terms of rhythm guitar and lead work. The production value on this EP is superior to that of the debut, most noticeable in the percussion department, in my opinion. While still programmed it would seem, the intended virtual performance is closer to what you would expect from that of an extreme metal skinsman.

"Animalism" features a neckbreaking tempo, rough barking vocals and high levels of distortion. The chorus is catchy and maintains an anthemic feel. "Fate Of One" incorporates some tricky off time patterns, minimalist keyboards and musically recalls early nineties grind metal that could have easily fit on the Earache Records roster once upon a time. "Defy The Sun" a song for which a promotional video has been filmed, closes out the INTERIM FLESH EP. Musically this number retains the same production of the previous three tracks, but the vocal performance is multilayered and doesn't resonate as polished as the three previous tracks.

All in all this is a solid outing from Andrew/Common Dead and should serve to keep his audience entertained until the next full length. I believe when I reviewed his first CD I noted that Common Dead's sound could only benefit from working with some outside musicians and I still hold that belief to some degree, at least in terms of eventually acquiring a physical drummer. Having said that, I still feel obliged to offer my respect for a musician with the drive and passion to attempt everything on their lonesome.
Track Listing

1. The Epiphany
2. Animalism
3. Fate Of One
4. Defy The Sun


Andrew Laurenson - Vocals, Instrumentation, Composition




Next review: » Communic - Conspiracy in Mind
Previous review: » Common Dead - Common Dead

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.