Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Completion Makes The Tragedy
September 2006
Released: 2006, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: EvilG

Usually in Metal Rules we try not to re-review an album in another month UNLESS the reviewer has a different opinion on the album. Such is the case with the debut from Coldseed. This new band is a 'supergroup' of sorts as it features Björn “Speed” Strid of Soliwork on vocals and ex-Blind Guardian and current Savage Circus drummer Thomen Stauch. Since I am a fan of Soilwork (except for the last album STABBING THE DRAMA) and an even bigger fan of Thomen’s work in Blind Guardian and Savage Circus, I assumed I would find something of interest here….such was not the case at all.

From the get go this CD offered one letdown after another. All the songs blended together into one large mess of modern ‘metal’. My promo having something like a zillion tracks on it (in a futile attempt to prevent people from ripping the CD) made the task of knowing which song was on all the more difficult. After first listen, I figured it was maybe my sour mood or something else that affected my judgment of the music. So I gave it a few more spins until I had to just turn it off…violently. Sure, the drumming is great, and the vocals are well done. There are even some decent leads from time to time. But the overall sound and style of this music just sums up so much of the horrid modern mallcore influenced crap that is out there.

If you think a mix of current Soilwork, Rob Zombie, and any random mallcore shit band out sounds like a good mix…feel free to dig into this. If you’re more of a Blind Guardian / Savage Circus kinda listener, don’t say that you weren’t warned about this crap!
Track Listing

1. My Affliction
2. Democracy Lesson
3. Nothing But A Looser
4. Five More To Fix
5. Burning With A Shade
6. Low
7. On My Way
8. Reflection
9. Completion Makes The Tragedy
10. Hatchet
11. Vulture Of The Throne
12. At Last


Björn “Speed” Strid – lead vocals
Thorsten Praest – guitar
Gonzalo Alfageme Lopez – guitar
Oli Holzwarth – bass
Mi Schüren – keyboards
Thomen Stauch – drums

Other reviews

Next review: » Coldspell - Out From The Cold
Previous review: » Coldseed - Completion Makes The Tragedy

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.