Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Erector
November 2004
Released: 2004, Oak Knoll
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: MetalGeorge

Calmsite is another Finnish wonder discovered by Jeremy over at Massachusetts' own Oak Knoll Productions. Somewhat of a departure from the melodic black/death Oak Knoll has become known for, THE ERRECTOR is a 10 track swaggerin' collection of whiskey soaked death 'n roll with a marked touch of melodic death.

The overall effect actually comes across as sounding quite fresh and exciting. The band is obviously really into what they're doing, and that energy jumps out of this album in abundance. THE ERRECTOR doesn't let up for a second, delivering jam after jam of bouncy, uptempo riffage, occasionally stopping for a cowbell assisted groove along the way.

Bands that come to mind when I listen to this include the criminally underrated Xysma, as well as latter day Gandalf and TO RIDE, SHOOT STRAIGHT...era Entombed. I don't want to make Calmsite sound unoriginal, however, because they manage to avoid totally ripping these bands off; I'm just using them as references.

Vocally, Petri Seitsonen primarily sticks to a strong growl or a rough yell a la Taneli Jarva (The Black League, ex-Sentenced), though at times he dips into a cool semi-clean singing voice as well, reminding me of Shawn Gallagher of Beyond the Embrace at times. The best thing about Calmsite is that they have a really cool sense of melody to them, as well. No riff overstays it's welcome, nor do they jump from one idea to the other. Their transitions are smooth, and memorable.

As I mentioned earlier, lots of the songs here on THE ERRECTOR have a melodic death touch to them, as well. While most of this feel is nicely interspersed throughout the songs, tracks like "Mudwhip" and closer "Ashtrayman" really shine by letting this NWOSDM feel rise to the surface.

Calmsite is a great band, and THE ERRECTOR is a fabulous debut record if I've ever heard one. If there's any justice in the world, this band should go places, so keep an eye on them. Fans of both stoner rock and melodic death metal are well advised to seek these fuckers out, because they really have a lot to offer.
Track Listing

1. Recharger
2. Melting the Frost
3. Asskin
4. Stripped Stiff
5. Payment in Full
6. Mudwhip
7. Skinning Service
8. Dienasty
9. Concrete Prayer
10. Ashtrayman


Juha Lehtonen--guitar
Petri Seitsonen--vocals
Ville Virtanen--guitar
Esa Makinen--bass
Jukka Penttinen--drums

Next review: » Calpakdjian, Nick (Director) - Metal Down Under (DVD)
Previous review: » Calm Hatchery - Fading Reliefs

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.