Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Of Beatings and the Silence in Between
June 2007
Released: 2007, Woodcut Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Almost 10 years since forming, the trio named Chthonian, featuring also the new Finntroll vocalist Matias Lillmåns, have finally found enough time to put their abominations together and record them for their debut album, titled OF BEATINGS AND THE SILENCE IN BETWEEN. Musically this 8-song effort (added with a video “Thirteen”), isn´t that far removed from the apocalyptic yet controlled blackish atmospheres of such Swedish bands as Dark Funeral, Necrophobic, Lord Belial and the likes. Chthonian share more musical references with those aforementioned 3 names than one could possibly think of at first. The band´s furious and brutal mixture of some essential ingredients from both Black and Death Metal, has been a somewhat successful journey for them, but only if you like your dose of extreme side of metal played without any surprises. Chthonian´s masterplan has obviously been to make a plateful of extreme Black/Death Metal in their own terms, to churn out the kind of music they want to play - and not to even try to look any further whether they could bring in some ´new´ or ´unique´ ingredients for this type of genre.

The songs on OF BEATINGS... are overall very professionally executed, full of passion and determination for bringing down all weak minds by its violently sinister, dark and beautifully twisted soundscapes that radiate strongly through the songs. Also, it´s good to hear Matthias Lillmåns use his voice in a wholly different way than he does in his main band, Finntroll. His death grunts are actually pretty impressive; evil and powerful - coming out from the very bottom of his throat. “Weep Human, Weep” flashes over the horizon like a lethal, nuclear missile - heading towards its target with a destructive power that only leaves a cloud of dust in the air after hitting it. And the same happens with such songs as “That´ll Teach You”, “Syringes and Chemicals”, “Of Beatings and the Silence in Between”, etc. Now dare to try this one out?
Track Listing

01. Ill
02. Thirteen
03. Sanguine Sadism
04. Larvae, Nymph, Decay
05. Weep Human, Weep
06. That'll Teach You
07. Syringes and Chemicals
08. Of Beatings and the Silence in Between


M. Lillmåns - Vocals & bass
J. Frilund - Guitars
M. Rosenberg - Drums

Other reviews

Next review: » Chthonian - The Preachings of Hate Are Lord
Previous review: » Chryseis - Planet Dead

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.