Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

July 2009
Released: 2009, n/a
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Stu Occupier

Hot of the press in time for June's 'Tsunami Festival' in Holland and completed just a few days before that, this is the second ep from the self styled "Blackened power Metal" supergroup formed by James after leaving Cradle Of Filth in 2005.

There were numerous line up's along the way and one ep released last year with Matt (Solsikk/ Ex Biomechanical), Tilman (Ex Samsas Traum) and Dave (Spitting Blood), this year they were joined by Paul (Skaldic Curse/ Ex Akercocke).

The opening song is a full speed onslaught with Dave's amazing vocal attack of screams followed by pure singing. It is a very drum driven track reminiscent of early Satyricon, and also contains some great guitar solos.

'Death Note' continues in the same vein and yet again it is the vocal style of Dave that grabs your attention, the opening part has an almost Arabic styled harmony before hitting that Dani Filth scream that he does so well. The song has a line in it "This is the time for retribution" and it sticks in your head instantly.

Now we come to the song I have been looking forward to since I first heard it performed live last December - 'Oppenheimer'. It starts with a haunting riff with "Tubed" speech over it, it has a wonderful rhythmic drum backing before picking up the pace into an almost gothic/black metal epic like Paradise Lost. I'm slightly disappointing by some of the effects put on the vocal as it slightly spoils what Dave is singing. But then I'm used to hearing it live where Dave just lets rip. What I love about the song is the way it just moves, with two such accomplished guitarists in the band it is surprising that there are no solos in the piece, but somehow that adds to the songs emotion because it allows it flow without breaks. It is a masterpiece and it is aided by the final piece 'Trinity' which is basically a recording of the 'Enigma 2000' numbers code that used to be broadcast over shortwave radio since the second world war, to this day nobody really knows what they were for, with an ambient soundscape underneath.

Overall this is a great progression in both music and production, it is a slick well executed ep full of originality and should see the band marked out as something "special". I look forward to the album and hope that they don't put too many effects on Dave's voice next time.
Track Listing

01.Ascendance Of Impurity
02.Death Note
04.Trinity (Outro)


Dave Kuchta (Vocals)
Paul Scanlan (Guitar)
James McIlroy (Guitar)
Tilman Wolff-Moore (Bass/Vocals)
Matt C (Drums)

Other reviews

by Stu Occupier

Next review: » Chaosbreed - Brutal
Previous review: » Chaos Theory - s/t

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.