Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Let ‘Em Burn
January 2015
Released: 2014, Independent
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

Puerto Rico must be proud of Calamity. With this band, Puerto Rico established its mark on the worldwide metal map.  Formed in 2010, the band represents everything New Wave Thrash Metal and old school at the same time stands for.

LET ‘EM BURN is the first ever recording made by Calamity. It’s a six-track EP of pure thrash metal madness. The musicianship of Calamity is undeniable. Everybody in the band is top-notch at what they do. The lead guitar work by Gonzalo Ortiz is truly incredible and the guitar solos (Ortiz or Santos) are well-structured and range from jaw-droppingly fast to melodic and hard-hitting, each solo done with an expert amount of skill.

The album almost immediately kicks off on a great note with extremely impressive powerful opener “Cyanide”, which showcases each member to the fullest, with a great solo and some powerful drumming throughout. Luckily there is enough variation to keep you on your toes though, and a variety of different influences are clearly displayed on each track. It's not the most progressive or experimental thrash album but it certainly provides ample aggression and skill to be one of the most entertaining albums so far of 2014.

Unfortunately, LET ‘EM BURN falls short due to shoddy production, but luckily delivers the goods that all thrash metal fans crave while still managing to be creative lyrically and stylistically. It is an extremely powerful thrash album that delivers enough intensity and aggression to please both fans and casual metal listeners alike. LET ‘EM BURN is a standard and typical thrash album. While the band would certainly go on to prove themselves in the years to come, this EP is far from perfect. It does show a band with a lot of potential room for growth and has a lot to give in the future.
Track Listing

1. Cyanide  
2. Endless Demise  
3. Killing Just For Fun  
4. Let ‘Em Burn  
5. Live in a Stage  
6. Until We Die


Berny Santos – Vocals, Guitar,
Gonzalo Ortiz – Guitar
Fernan Rivera - Bass
Eduardo Acevedo - Drums



Other reviews

» Let ‘Em Burn
by Helias Papadopoulos

Next review: » Caliban - I Am Nemesis
Previous review: » Cain`s Alibi - Sanctified

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.