Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Celtic Frost
To Mega Therion
August 2017
Released: 2017, Noise / BMG
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

BMG who recently acquired Noise Records is currently unveiling a massive reissue campaign from the seminal acts that put Noise Records on the map in the mid eighties. Remastered and Deluxe Expanded Editions of classic albums by such heavyweights as Celtic Frost, Kreator, Helloween, Running Wild, Grave Digger and Voivod are hitting store shelves or awaiting release as we speak.

I'm loving this special edition "To Mega Therion" reissue. Housed in a hardcover digi-pak with full color glossy archival photos and a lengthy written piece about the band and album by Xavier Russell. However, the booklet liner notes are causing quite the commotion on this reissue campaign as Celtic Frost mastermind Tom G. Warrior does not endorse these reissues (despite being part of the remastering process) as a result of BMG's legal team attempting to censor and even omit parts of the original liner notes he had written to accompany each album.

For those unfamiliar with Celtic Frost, "To Mega Therion" was the band's first proper full-length album originally released in 1985. Picking up from the caustic, droning, unholy saturation of distorted guitars that "Morbid Tales" introduced a year earlier, "To Mega Therion" pushed the envelope forward with more bombastic compositions, albeit still highly unorthodox for it's time.

The remastering sounds brilliant! I own the 1999 Noise reissues and to my ears the 2017 reissues sound clearer, punchier, louder and thus superior. There are six bonus tracks on the "To Mega Therion" reissue. We get "Circle Of The Tyrants" "Visual Aggression" "Suicidal Winds" and "Journey Into Fear" taken from the "Emperors Return" sessions and "Visual Aggression" which is the 1988 Remix and "Return To The Eve" from a 1985 studio jam.

An enjoyable, well put together reissue is the end result. One that I'd recommend to fans both new and old alike. I don't know about you but my Celtic Frost albums were beat to shit from years of hauling around in the car and taking over to friends houses and repeated listens. I needed the upgrade! It is a shame that Tom G. Warrior's involvement was hindered. I can only imagine how much better these already great reissues could have been.
Track Listing

1. Innocence and Wrath
2. The Usurper
3. Jewel Throne
4. Dawn of Meggido
5. Eternal Summer
6. Circle of the Tyrants
7. (Beyond the) North Winds
8. Fainted Eyes
9. Tears In a Prophet's Dream
10. Necromantical Screams
11. Circle of the Tyrants (Emperor's Return EP)
12. Visual Aggression (Emperor's Return EP)
13. Suicidal Winds (Emperor's Return EP)
14. Journey Into Fear (Emperor's Return EP Recording Sessions)
15. Visual Aggression (1988 Remix)
16. Return to the Eve (1985 Studio Jam)


Tom Gabriel Warrior - Vocals, Guitar
Dominic Steiner - Bass
Reed St. Mark - Drums



Next review: » Celtic Frost - To Mega Therion (Vinyl)
Previous review: » Celtic Frost - Morbid Tales (Vinyl)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.