Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Pieces Of A Shattered Me
August 2011
Released: 2011, Unsigned
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Erich

From the great metal breeding ground of Sweden comes a promising unsigned band called Castillion. The band formed in 2002 playing mostly melodic power metal, but on their latest album PIECES OF A SHATTERED ME, the band has moved in a much more progressive direction. Mixed, recorded, and mastered professionally by stalwarts of the genre such as Jens Bogrens who has lent his skills to albums by Opeth and Hammerfall, this album shines like a major label project.

Musically the band employs mid-paced tempos with sophisticated but not overblown execution. Singer, Ulf Sörman has a comforting range, articulate and melodic. Guitars are very clean and bright, tactfully harmonizing in places while providing chugging riffs. “When Reality Distracts” emphasizes the progressive elements of the band, reminiscent of Dream Theater and Fates Warning’s mid 90’s sound. “Whispers Turns Into Cries” invokes the heady days of Helloween’s power metal glory years particularly in the uplifting chorus. My favorite track though is the semi-ballad “Departure”, which contains an inspired and melodic solo.

Considered as a whole, this is a well-executed statement of progressive metal. There is not much here that has not been done before, and so the surprises are few and far between and for progressive metal devotees might come across as generic. However, the commitment and restraint are winning combinations, and when this style of music is performed this admirably a few minor quibbles about originality are easily digested. Certainly Castillion is just as good as many other bands playing this style of music and it would be a surprise if they were unable to secure a label in the near future. PIECES OF A SHATTERED ME will appeal to fans of less complicated and note dense progressive metal and to power metal fans as well.
Track Listing

1. Cruel Sands of Time

2. When Reality Distracts

3. Out of Reach

4. Into the lion’s den

5. Rust on the Razor

6. Departure

7. Whispers Turn Into Cries

8. House of Cards

9. Fragments

10. With a clouded mind

11. Hollow

12. Shattered


Ulf Sörman - Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Robert Örnesved - Lead Guitar
Johannes Berg - Lead Drums
Magnus Stenberg - Lead Bass

Other reviews

Next review: » Castle - In Witch Order
Previous review: » Cassius - I Am Jim Jones

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.