Featured Events

Steelfest 2017

Swedenrock 2017

Brutal Assault

K???????? ???? ???? 24.06.2017 Kyiv


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Fall From Grace
May 2011
Released: 2011, Lion Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

FALL FROM GRACE is the second album for these small-town, Ontario, Canadian metallions. After a low-key, independent debut in 2008 called WORLD OF SILENCE, the band must have caught the attention of someone because now they are on the prestigious Lion label.

These guys have studied the masters and have written and recorded a very accomplished, sophisticated and mature effort. Influences seem to range nicely from Evergrey to Savatage. I also hear a good bit of Circle II Circle due to the charismatic voice of Matt Marinelli who reminds me of Zak Stevens.

The nine cut, 45 minute album starts with a bang tearing into the surprisingly heavy and intense opener ‘Finest Hour’. There are also a few gruff vocals scattered in the song but they are certainly not the focal point. The pace of the album is mid-paced to faster but not just double-kick, more along a nice gallop, changing up every so often.

There is also quite a bit of atmosphere added from the layers of keyboards but they are not overwhelming, they let the guitars take the lead. Acoustic guitar also adds some dynamic flair to various parts of the songs, but never long enough to wander into ballad territory. The arrangements are interesting but not too complex to loose sight of the song, as most of them fall in the 3-5 minute range. There are also a very few more symphonic hints as well as heard on the beginning of the cut ‘Watch The World Collapse’.

There is a sort of vigorous intensity about the entire album. I’m very impressed with this album and hope to seek out the debut to support my fellow Canadians. FALL FROM GRACE is anything but, more like ascension to glory! Watch for more good things from Borealis on the international stage in the very near future.
Track Listing

1. Finest Hour
2. Words I Failed to Say
3. Fall From Grace
4. Where We Started
5. Breaking The Curse
6. Regeneration
7. Watch The World Collapse
8. Take You Over
9. Forgotten Forever


Matt Marinelli-Vocals, Guitars
Jamie Smith-Bass
Sean Werlick-Keyboards
Sean Dowell-Drums



Other reviews

» Fall From Grace
by JP

Next review: » Borgne - Royaume des Ombres
Previous review: » Boomerang - Balance of Hate

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.