Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Behind Obstacles Lies Truth
May 2009
Released: 2009, Full House Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Bolt is a 5-piece hardcore act coming from the capital city of Finland, Helsinki – with a metallic overtone in their sound, and have finally got their 2nd full-length album out, titled BEHIND OBSTACLES LIES TRUTH. It´s been 6 years since these fellows´ debut release, DEEP WITHIN, was churned out to this world, so it could be said that the silence has been broken as far as this 6 year long gap between two of their full-length albums are concerned anyway.

Just like so many other metallic hardcore acts on Full House Records, Bolt count on some basic elements in their riff-based hardcore assaults. The band uses a lot of chunky and muscular riffs in their songs, proving a good backbone for the band´s overall nicely flowing, testosterone-filled outbursts that hit its listener like a fair sized tornado, full of malicious rage and sheer power. If you strip down all the vocal parts from their stuff, they actually sound a lot like a mid-paced thrash band with some good melodies backing up their songs somewhat nicely.

However, even if they do sound good and all that, I don´t think they differ that drastically from other similar HC-acts on the label´s roster, having a good injection of metal in their sound. On the other hand, should they in the first place, because there certainly are some certain limits and rules within this particular genre in question that one should respect in order to fit into this certain type of ´box´ both musically (and ideologically, too).

BEHIND OBSTACLES LIES TRUTH is still a relatively good output from Bolt anyway, one of the founding fathers of the Helsinki hardcore scene as they are known for among the hardcore audience. It must be said that the Finnish hardcore sounds still strong nowadays, and Bolt is one of the clearest piece of proof for it.
Track Listing

01. Always Outnumbered
02. Set Ablaze
03. Through Thick and Thin
04. Truly Blessed
05. Chokehold
06. Stabbing Nation
07. Tapia
08. Blood That Boils
09. Forever Dedicated


Tom Hamara - Vocals
Nikola Tomevski - Rhythm guitar
Janne Virtanen - Lead guitar
Markus Eklund - Bass
Lauri Louekari - Drums

Next review: » Bolt Thrower - Honour-Valour-Pride
Previous review: » Bolero - Voyage From Vinland

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.