Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Voyage From Vinland
February 2012
Released: 2011, Independent
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Bolero are a Symphonic Celtic Death Metal band from Ontario, Canada who formed in 2005 by singer/bassist Morgan Rider as a Black Metal side project, but with their present line-up their direction changed and the bank became focused and solidified in 2007 and went towards another direction. Having recently unleashed their debut album, Voyage From Vinland, these epic metal warriors are now gaining great momentum and converting listeners and critics across the globe into believers and preachers of symphonic Celtic death metal!

In only three years they have managed to share the stage with some great bands and despite being unsigned they have played some festivals and done mini tours gaining a great fan base. All the songs were written by Bass & lead vocalist Morgan Rider, with the exception of Risen Victorious which was written by Morgan Rider, Tim Ferriman, Casey Elliott & Alex Woods. The album was produced by: Colin Attlesey & Bolero themselves and mastered by Thomas Ireland at Icehouse Studios.

Their sound is quite unique deriving influences from thrash, black metal, and giving their own twist on traditional folk music, with elements of viking/pagan metal too. The album also features orchestrations, aswell as impressive aggressive speed, and amazing guitar riffs that will attract many different metal lovers as each track goes in many different directions, yet is still easy to follow and written really well and the vocals are great!

I really enjoyed this album and it definitely wasn’t how I expected it to sound. So, even if you’re not into the usual style of celtic, folk metal genre, I urge you to try this album on for size, cause with all the ingredients thrown in there , you may just like it!

So with the words of the band – ‘We invite you to come out to a show, to have some beers with us as we conquer the world, one pint at a time!’
Track Listing

1. Voyage From Vinland
2. Send Of The War Summons
3. When The Legends Die
4. Risen Victorious
5. Our Land, Our Seas, Our Skies
6. Pints Held High
7. O’ Hail To The Northlander
8. Throne Of Storms
9. A Silence Prolonging
10. Way To Forgotten Lands
11. Sworn Under The Winter’s Majesty


Morgan T. Rider - Bass and Lead Vocals
Tim Ferriman - Lead Guitar and Backing Vocals
Casey Elliott - Rhythm Guitar and Backing Vocals
Alexander Woods-Keyboards and Backing Vocals
Rob Rousseau - Drums

Other reviews

» Voyage From Vinland
by UK Team

Next review: » Bolt - Behind Obstacles Lies Truth
Previous review: » Boland - In My Corner

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.