Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Curses Thorns Blood
October 2012
Released: 2012, Haintic Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Blutvial was formed by guitarist/bassist/drummer Aort before joining forces with Ewchymlaen; formerly known as the guitarist-vocalist of black metallers Reign of Erebus and Acolyte’s Ruin. Their debut album was released in 2007 ‘Full Moon Possession’, by Ledo Takas Records but this served as a warning for the unrelenting barrage that Blutvial created, which was released by Spikefarm Records in July 2009. ‘I Speak of the Devil’ was a merciless attack of primal black metal encompassing a range of weapons through which to punish the listeners. This then followed their release of their second album, ‘Curses Thorns Blood’ which saw them becoming even more aggressive. Now in 2012 sees the release of ‘Curses Thorns Blood’.

Well, there is no messing about with these guys! As soon as the first track kicks in you’re amerced violently with furious riffs which captures you until the gritty vocals of Ewchymlaen take over. Not as aggressive as some other vocalists out there and on a lower volume tone, but this itself lets the music and riffs stand out in this album, and they are really great! There is a gritty harsh darkness that flows through this album and there is definitely some death/thras metal elements in this album to, so this will appeal to many metal fans out there, especially if you like your metal hard, fast & aggressive.

For me, personally I thought the album just got better and better and each track brought something different, but still kept it’s aggression throughout. Produced by Jaime Gomez Arellano at Orgone Studios (Ulver, Ghost, Aura Noir, Cathedral), Blutvial have certainly stepped up to a new level with this release!

Blutvial really do represent British Black Metal at its most damned and violent! Dare you step into the unholy world of Blutvial?!!

Review by Jo Blackened
Track Listing

1 - At The Stones We Gather
2 - Blackthorn Winter
3 - The Immutable Hammer
4 - Conspiracy Of Optimism
5 - Tirade Against Oversocialisation
6 - Three Curses
7 - A Light In The Forest
8 - Wethered And Broken-Mouthed


Aort: Guitars, Bass, Drums
Ewchymlaen: Vocals, Guitars
Zemogh: Drums

Other reviews

» Curses Thorns Blood
by UK Team

Next review: » Blynd - Punishment Unfolds
Previous review: » Blutbahnen - Eisregen

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.