Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Black Label Society
Unblackened (Blu-Ray)
November 2013
Released: 2013, Eagle Rock Ent.
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Zakk Wylde and BLS jump aboard the ‘Unplugged Train’. When this was first announced I hoped it would be Zakk and Nick on acoustics doing some of the Pride & Glory stuff along with a few tunes from BOOK OF SHADOWS and maybe a few from HANGOVER MUSIC VOL.VI. Unfortunately I was wrong. This is reworked BLS songs for the most part.

This is not a proper ‘Unplugged’, unless referring to the distortion pedals. For this show they basically ‘Unplugged’ the distortion pedals and played with a more clean sound. They did the right approach and kicked it down a notch but in true BLS fashion, not fully ‘Unplugged’.

UNBLACKENED does begin with “Losin’ Yoiur Mind” from the Pride & Glory project which is a great start. Typical BLS Classics such as “Stillborn”, “In This River” and “Spoke In The Wheel” are included and lend themselves well to the untraditional unplugged that we have here. There is a keyboardist on stage with them that lends a nice but unnecessary aspect to the performances. A digital baby grand is there as well and it sounds really nice but a real one would be much nicer (and appropriate).

Visually stunning with a really nice audio mix that sounds great turned up loud. UNBLACKENED is not your typical Unplugged show. This is a toned down BLS concert with less distortion and speed. Zakk sounds much better in this type of setting compared to a full blown Black Label gig.
Track Listing

1. Losin’ Your Mind
2. The Blessed Hellride
3. Sold My Soul
4. Road Back Home
5. Spoke in the Wheel
6. House of Doom
7. Queen of Sorrow
8. Machine Gun Man
9. Sweet Jesus
10. In This River
11. Throwin’ It All Away
12. Takillya (Estyabon)
13. Won't Find It Here
14. Rust
15. Speedball
16. I Thank You Child
17. Stillborn


Zakk Wylde-Vocals, Guitar, Piano
John DeServio Bass, Vocals
Chad Szeliga Drums
Nick Catanese Guitars



Next review: » Black Light - Name Of The One
Previous review: » Black Label Society - The European Invasion: Doom Troopin' Live (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.