Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Long Way Down
February 2015
Released: 2014, Frontiers Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Bailey is the solo debut of Englishman Nigel Bailey, who burst upon the hard rock scene early in 2014 as the vocalist in Three Lions. Although Bailey’s vocals were obviously front and centre in Three Lions, the group is more the playground for two ex-Dare & Ten members with Bailey on board to complete the band’s sound. LONG WAY DOWN is Nigels’ first solo foray and a chance for him to prove his chops on his own.

If you heard Three Lions’ superb melodic hard rock, then you have a pretty good idea of what this album sounds like. What’s cool about LONG WAY DOWN though is that it isn’t afraid to get a little bit heavier and be almost pure metal on tracks like “In the Name of the King”. Of course there are obligatory ballads present, but even those are better written than most filler tracks. “Somewhere In Oslo”, in particular, comes off as heart-felt and meaningful.

Outside of the ballads, the album is packed full of fun hard rock cuts that will have you playing air-guitar and singing along. As you’d expect, Bailey is the focal point; his strong, clear vocals are pushed to the fore and he come across as the confident rock star he could have been in a different musical climate. It helps that he’s backed up by what I call the “Frontiers Records Players”, particularly producer and keyboardist Alessandro Del Vecchio, who seems to have his hand in just about every album released on the label (to their benefit!).

After enjoying Three Lions, I was excited to hear what Nigel Bailey could do on his solo album, and after numerous listens to LONG WAY DOWN, I’d say Bailey’s even better on his own! LONG WAY DOWN is an excellent debut and proves that Bailey is more than “just” a front man for veterans. Keep it coming!
Track Listing

1. Feed the Flames
2. In the Name of the King
3. Dirty Little Secret
4. Bad Reputation
5. Stay
6. Somewhere In Oslo
7. Long Way Down
8. Spend the Night
9. Love Falls Down
10. Ticket To Yesterday
11. Dirty Angel


Nigel Bailey: Vocals, Guitar, Bass
Mario Percudani: Guitar
Alessandro Del Vecchio: Keyboards
Alessandro Mori: Drums



Next review: » Baker, Todd - Metal Fatigue (Book Review)
Previous review: » Baht - In My Veins

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.