Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Of Breath And Bone
September 2012
Released: 2012, Rockstar Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Australia’s Be’Lakor turned quite a few heads back in 2009 with their sophomore release, STONE’S REACH. For fans of melodic death metal, the album proved that there was still some vitality left in a genre long thought to be well passed its expiry date. While that particular album passed me by, I had read the glowing praise afforded the band and was duly excited when the band’s newest album crossed my path.

From the first roaring notes of “Abeyance” it’s clear that Be’Lakor are still energized by playing melodic death metal. There’s a palpable vigour to the band’s riffs and adventurousness in the song writing that isn’t often present in this genre. Indeed, the band often flirts with progressive metal-like song structures and clearly isn’t afraid to break from the norm established by the SLAUGHTER OF THE SOUL-worshipping crowd. Not that song length is an indicator of quality, but the fact that the only song less than 6 minutes long is the quiet instrumental “To Stir the Sea”, proves the band is willing to branch out.

Of course, Be’Lakor’s sound is instantly identifiable as melo-death, but this is much more than simple base rounding. Yes, the music is melodic, with chugging riffs and growled vocals, but there is much to explore within this album, not the least of which are the haunting, explorative guitar melodies. George Komas’ vocals are nothing to write home about, but otherwise the musicianship is top-notch.

All told, Be’Lakor is not only a good band, but have something different to offer fans of an often stale genre, making them definitely worth your time.
Track Listing

1. Abeyance
2. Remnants
3. Fraught
4. Absit Omen
5. To Stir the Sea
6. In Parting
7. The Dream and the Waking
8. By Moon and Star


George Komas: Vocals, Guitar
Shaun Sykes: Guitar
Steve Merry: Keyboards
Jimmy Vanden Broek: Bass
John Richardson: Drums

Next review: » Bible of the Devil - Freedom Metal
Previous review: » Beyond Threshold - Who We Are

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.