Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Abysmal Dawn
Leveling the Plane of Existence
March 2011
Released: 2011, Relapse Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

I really love this Los Angeles band and was looking forward to hearing Abysmal Dawn's third album release LEVELLING THE PLANE OF EXISTENCE.

I really liked the intro to 'The Age Of Ruin', the first track from the album. Having a dark, gothic feel to it, which I loved; it was only a minute or so until it changed to the deep death metal growls from the second track 'Pixilated Ignorance'.

I loved the fast pace of this album, the amazing drumming and guitars throughout are very impressive as well as the deep vocals of Charles Elliott; I have to say, I really do love his voice. But it's hard to call them 'Extreme' Death Metal, as they definitely have more of a 'Dark, Melodic, Technical Death Metal sound' to them, with a great atmosphere throughout the album.

It's also surprising there are only three members to this American band, given the sounds they are producing and I'm always impressed with a vocalist who can perform such deep growls & still play amazing riffs on the guitar.

Again I loved the track 'Our Primitive Nature' which is just a 56 second intro for the next song. Breaking up the brutal songs nicely, it again takes you to a darker place and preparing you for the next song which immediately starts with loud impressive growls!

This is a very tight band with amazing sound quality, I never lost interest listening to this album as they also show great variety in their style in every song.

Their second to last song 'My Own Saviour' stood out for me, probably being one of the best tracks on the album for me.

Every song is different with awesome riffs which I really enjoyed, with great intros breaking up the songs up perfectly.

This is definitely an album which is going in my favourites & a must for any Death Metal Fan out there!

Jo Blackened
Track Listing

1. The Age of Ruin
2. Pixilated Ignorance
3. In Service of Time
4. Rapture Renowned
5. Our Primitive Nature
6. Perpetual Dormancy
7. Leveling the Plane of Existence
8. Manufactured Humanity
9. My Own Savior
10. The Sleeper Awakens


Charles Elliott: Vocals,Guitars
Scott Fuller: Drums
Mike Cosio: Bass

Other reviews

» Leveling the Plane of Existence
by UK Team

» Leveling the Plane of Existence
by UK Team

» From Ashes (Re-Issue)
by UK Team

» Obsolescence
by Peter Atkinson

Next review: » Abysmal Dawn - Leveling the Plane of Existence
Previous review: » Abysmal Dawn - From Ashes (Re-Issue)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.