Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Armageddon Rev 16:16
Sundown Of Humanity
May 2014
Released: 2014, Pitch Black
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

Cyprus metal society is very proud of the oldest and long running metal act Armageddon REV.16:16 (aka ARMAGEDDON). They are around for almost 30 years. They are the leaders of the Cypriot metal scene and they are about to release their new album, SUNDOWN OF HUMANITY.

Many people believe that power metal is dead, but they are wrong and the evidence for that is SUNDOWN OF HUMANITY. This album is heavier than the previous albums by far with a modern heavy/power metal mixing and mstering by Firewind’s Bob Katsionis. “E.K. 40 (Intro)” launches itself from your speakers like some manic beast with a killer riff paying tribute to the likes of Savatage. This intro gives a short taste of what is coming.

“Human Sundown” begins with the power vocals of Jimmy Mavrommatis, and then the guitar riff war begins. The opener song is followed by the powerful “Shades of Tomorrow” with a special chorus that every fan will sing along not only at the live shows but also while listening to this record at home. The riffs are coming by the third heavy and fast track named “Strange Dreams”. The album continues with powerful power metal songs and a wonderful emotional ballad “Why” in the middle before “Icy Blackness” closes the album (this is a song and the history of Russian submarine, the Kursk).

“Sundown on Humanity” includes guest appearances by Bob Katsionis (FIREWIND) on keyboards and guitar, Nicholas Leptos (ARRAYAN PATH, WARLORD), Tasos Karonias (R.U.S.T.) and Andreas Paraschos (BLYND) on vocals.

In hindsight, it is obvious that this band had far more to offer and SUNDOWN OF HUMANITY is the proof. It’s an album that successfully paints vivid and pulsating musical images. SUNDOWN OF HUMANITY is a bottled up ‘power’ riot distilled into musical form. This album writes another chapter in (Cypriot) power metal history book.
Track Listing

1. E.K. 40 (Intro)
2. Human Sundown
3. Shades of Tomorrow
4. Strange Dreams
5. Fallen Angels and Lost Souls
6. Hypocrites of Destruction
7. New Day Will Come
8. 13-Seventh Eleven
9. Why
10. Heavy Metal
11. United
12. Icy Blackness (Kursk)


Jimmy Mavrommatis -vocals
Kikis A. Apostolou- lead guitar
Elias A. Andreou- guitars
Nikolas Papaeftychiou - bass
Kerry Elgar- drums

Other reviews

» Sundown Of Humanity
by Helias Papadopoulos

Next review: » Armifera - Eradication
Previous review: » Armageddon - Embrace the Mystery

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.