Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Hope In Hell
June 2013
Released: 2013, The End Recordfs
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

HOPE IN HELL is Anvil’s 15th studio album and it is possibly their strongest effort yet. I know this gets said every time an artist releases a new album but it couldn’t ring truer here. This new album appears to be slightly more commercial than previous efforts but in no way possible are Anvil selling out.

From the beginning the title track starts you find yourself immersed in the music. It will draw you in and grab your attention. Then “Eat Your Words” follows it up with some insane drumming by Robb Reiner and your jaw drops and your mind is wondering what have I been missing? The over the top drumming may not continue for all 13 tracks but Robb’s playing is stellar throughout and very well placed in the mix. Lip’s vocals have never sounded so good as they do on this album. They are clear and more melodic, which may be partially due to the stronger songwriting. Anvil have written many great tunes over the years but this album is stronger from start to finish compared to previous albums. Every song is memorable and as with previous efforts there are light-minded lyrics. Anvil were never a band to make strong political messages and this tradition continues, complete with a mention of earlier times.

Lips and Robb pull no punches here and have released the best album of their career. HOPE IN HELL is all killer with zero filler! I can guarantee you that it will be one of 2013’s top Metal releases and will make many people’s lists.
Track Listing

01. Hope in Hell
02. Eat Your Words
03. Through with You
04. The Fight is Never Won
05. Pay the Toll
07.Call of Duty
08.Badass Rock n Roll
09.Time Shows No Mercy
10.Mankind Machine
11.Shut the Fuck Up

LP Bonus tracks
12.Hard Wired
13.Fire at Will


Lips - Vocals & Guitar
Robb Reiner - Drums
Sal Italiano - Bass

Next review: » Anvil - Hope In Hell
Previous review: » Anvil - Back To Basics

Hope In Hell
January 2014
Released: 2013, The End
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

Anvil is a band that is gonna live forever! They are like Motorhead, live forever and keep releasing new albums! They play loud in power chords. Before anyone is going to blame the album for any absence of inspiration and innovation, let’s consider of their ages and albums. These Anvils have nothing to do more to testify of who they are.

Fuelled by the pure creation of true heavy metal, Anvil won’t give up their dream and vision of playing the music we love as AC/DC, Saxon, Motorhead and Judas Priest did. HOPE IN HELL is a wonderful throwback to the early hard rock and heavy metal era. And this makes sense as Anvil have been forged of the same 70’s and and 80’s steel as the above acts. This is their own “call of duty”.

The opener title track is heavy, sludgy, slow and completely evil as their 1982’s 'Metal On Metal' track. Things speed up with ‘Eat Your Words’, which reminds me a bit of ‘Ace of Spades’ as far as the vocal melody concerns. The third track of the album ‘Through With You’ has a Deep Purple’s ‘Smoke on the Water’ touch, but who cares. It’s a brilliant song. ‘Time Shows No Mercy’ to everybody but not to Anvil. This is a song that Lips' solos are surprisingly tasteful throughout. The songs on HOPE IN HELL are typical fare for Anvil, although given that they've been raising families for some time now, they don't have one tenth of the sexual decadence of older songs like "Jackhammer".

The band bust out a seven minute epic to cap it all off, which isn't bad in its own right, but it's overshadowed by the closer. For whatever reason, the band tacked on a throwaway which is an absolute heavy metal act with blaring horns as the heavy metal legion s demand. The guitars are grinding, the vocals are extremely kicking, the whole album is not particularly unique or innovative, but it is the best 15th heavy album that many bands would like to unleash. To sum up, there is only one sentence that can describe exactly what all the fuss is about;

The flame of youth will blaze, live the thrill, and metal will never die
Track Listing

1. "Hope in Hell"
2. "Eat Your Words"
3. "Through with You"
4. "The Fight is Never Won"
5. "Pay the Toll"
6. "Flying"
7. "Call of Duty"
8. "Badass Rock 'n' Roll"
9. "Time Shows No Mercy"
10. "Mankind Machine"
11. "Shut the Fuck Up"


Steve Kudlow – Vocals, lead Guitar
Sal Italiano – Bass
Robb Reiner – Drums

Next review: » Anvil - Juggernaut Of Justice
Previous review: » Anvil - Back To Basics

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.