Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Angst Skvadron
Sweet Poison
March 2010
Released: 2010, Agonia Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Angst Skvadron is the brainchild of relatively known Norwegian musician T. Nefas who has become known for his works in Urgehal, Kvist, In Lingua Mortua, Bloodsworn – just to name a few of his bands. Angst Skvadron is a product of his latest musical ambition to do something completely different again; this stuff herein could be called a mixture of psychedelic, ambient and avantgarde-ish black/dark metal that naturally takes more than those mandatory 2-3 half-devoted rounds to understand what´s this really all about musically.

I don´t know how much people to tend to appreciate or value the type of stuff that is introduced on Angst Skvadron´s 2nd album, SWEET POISON, but I found all this stuff kinda fascinating and mesmerizing anyway. Angst Skvadron is a sort of mish-mash of musically ambitious chest pounding of bands like Kovenant, VoiVod and Ved Buens Ende (the 3 names I can think of right now), in which a listener is sunk into disharmonic sound waves of strange noises and deep atmospheres – and in which most of us are also able to find something familiar to be associated with at the very same time. Overall the songs on SWEET POISON sound really spacey, somewhat disturbed but at the same time, still kinda harmonious and peaceful - and yet positively obscure and weird. In fact, one may feel like traveling somewhere in outer space, seeing different and eyes-nailing colors when listening to this mind-provoking opus, yet feeling totally hallucinated, lost and enslaved by the content of this – to say the least, ´interesting´ record. A large set of different instruments used for the record, make it all possible .

SWEET POISON works best in a dark room when you are left alone with this album, your sofa or bed offering you a seat in this journey through the universe; through the sea of billions of stars, planets, galaxies and an infinite cosmos. Just make sure to come back from your trip though. You don´t want to get lost in the space of Angst Skvadron, and get eaten by ugly aliens, do you?
Track Listing

01. Valium Holocaust
02. Aerophobia
03. Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
04. Dolcontine Blues
05. Fucking Karma
06. The U.F.O. Is Leaving
07. Rivotril Matja
08. We Miss Them
09. The Eyes Among Stars
10. Sweet Poison


T.B - Vocals, guitar, bass and piano
L.F.F - Drums, minimoog, Arp Axxe, Korg Polysix, Hohner Clavinet D6, mellotron
O.M.P. - Vocals

Other reviews

» Sweet Poison
by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Angtoria - God Has A Plan For Us All
Previous review: » Angrenost - Planet Muscaria

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.