Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Alice Cooper
Welcome To My Nightmare Special Edition
September 2017
Released: 2017, Eagle Vision
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

Many of you will be familiar with Alice Cooper's stage presentation of his debut solo album "Welcome To My Nightmare" that has previously been available on VHS and DVD formats but the 1975 TV special "Alice Cooper: The Nightmare" is debuting on DVD for the first time ever and that is something to be excited about! Each song on the "Welcome To My Nightmare" album is given it's own unique stage set and music video. Alice isn't miming to the vocal tracks on the album. In fact if there's any lip-syncing involved it's done to entirely different vocal takes, some even with alternate lyrics. In my opinion, this makes for a special kind of nightmare.

Years ago (no pun intended) I was covering an Alice Cooper press conference for at the Texas Frightmare Weekend in Dallas and I asked Alice Cooper if the 1975 TV Special "Alice Cooper: The Nightmare" would ever be released. Alice responded "Someone asked me a question like that, I don't know. I wrote it, but somebody has the rights to it. I know I own a piece of it or part of it or whatever. But I would never know what the contractual thing would be." Glad they got that figured out and I hope had a hand in putting over the demand for it!

I was about nine or ten when I first got into hard rock and metal. At first bands like Bon Jovi, Motley Crue and Skid Row dominated my cassette walkman. My parents had no idea who these bands were and could care less, quite frankly. I'll never forget walking alongside my mother at the supermarket with a Circus magazine in my hand "Wow, mom. Alice Cooper says he used to drink until he would throw up blood!" I wanted his recently released "Trash" cassette so badly after seeing the video for "House of Fire". My mom was quick to inform me "Alice Cooper is a bad man!" she said. Only how would she know that? Perhaps she saw the 1975 TV special. Skip to Alice's performance of "Years Ago" and that might be the Coop that parent's despised and their children idolized. Or was it "Cold Ethyl" that solidified him as super villain of the seventies?

This DVD set is a stunning, fantastic time capsule of the seventies. I'd put it side by side other 4 star releases like Kiss' "Kissology" DVD or Iron Maiden's "The Early Days". To think something this amazing had been stowed away in the vaults for so long really makes you wonder what else is still out there? Run to your nearest DVD retailer and secure your copy at once! Long live the Coop!
Track Listing

Welcome To My Nightmare
1. The Awakening
2. Welcome To My Nightmare
3. Years Ago
4. No More Mr. Nice Guy
5. I'm Eighteen
6. Some Folks
7. Cold Ethyl
8. Only Women Bleed
9. Billion Dollar Babies
10. Devil's Food
11. The Black Widow
12. Steven
13. Escape
14. School's Out
15. Department of Youth

The Nightmare
1. Welcome To My Nightmare
2. Devil's Food
3. Some Folks
4. Only Women Bleed
5. Cold Ethyl
6. The Black Widow
7. Years Ago
8. Department of Youth
9. Years Ago (Reprise)
10. Steven
11. The Awakening
12. Ballad of Dwight Fry
13. Escape
14. The Awakening (Reprise)





Next review: » Alice in Chains - Black Gives Way to Blue
Previous review: » Alice Cooper - Welcome 2 My Nightmare

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.