Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Agoraphobic nosebleed and Despise You
Split album
July 2011
Released: 2011, Relapse Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

One of America’s pioneer grindcore bands, Agoraphobic Nosebleed, have released a split LP And on And on with Despise you.

Staying true to the trend of short outbursts of energy, the majority of tracks on this record are between one to two minutes in length. Those ignorant to the genre may well indeed find a serious lack of value for money, most notably in the 15 second long of ‘Repeat until you fail’ in which fast drums and brooding bass punch out what feels like a section of a song rather than an actual song in itself. However, the album itself is 25 tracks long, which is where the value more than makes up for it.

The first five tracks of the album seem to flow fairly consistently with each other. Blending together brutal hardcore and grind along with the angst ridden ‘Roll Call’ these guys have messages in their music, and with the traditionalised hardcore shouting, they are conveyed with both clarity and precision.

‘You can’t fix me, Don’t Trip’ is a prime example of how quality over quantity is an important part of writing good music. The fast and filthy riffs ‘Painted Gray’ and ‘Destinal’ could tear organs out from your body and chunks out of your flesh. ‘Cedar Ave (Was the Best Place To Watch People Ascend To Heaven)’ and ‘Half Dead’, in their velocity come crashing down like a meteor to earth. Meanwhile the impressive guitar intro on ‘As Bad As It Gets’ race through, making it a clear stand out track on the record.

The closing track, ‘Burlap Sack’ has a demonic feel that will tears through the speakers as one of the most aggressive songs I’ve heard in a long time.

Agoraphobic Nosebleed may not be the most tangible band to grace the alternative music scene, but their passion is undeniable and their range of emotions are unmistakable. Definitely a band that are worth pursuing.

Review by Ben Spencer
Track Listing

1. Bereft
2. Repeat until you fail
3. Roll Call
4. 3/26/2000
5. Three Day Hold
6. Yes Officer/ No Officer
7. Fear’s Song
8. Two or Ten Faces
9. Shit Goes In, Shit Goes Out
10. You Can’t Fix Me, Dont Trip
11. Painted Gray
12. All The Regimes You Most Hold Dear
13. Destinial
14. Bankrupt Social Code
15. Seven Funerals
16. They All Died is What Happened
17. ...And Expirations
18. Cedar Ave. (Was The Best Place To Watch People Ascend To Heaven)
19. Half Dead
20. As Bad As It Is
21. Miscommunication
22. Los Infernos
23. Ungrateful
24. Possession
25. Burlap Sack


Agoraphobic Nosebleed members:
Scott Hull (guitar, drum programming)
Jay Randall (vocals, electronics)
Richard Johnson (vocals, bass)
Katherine Katz (vocals)

Despise You members:
Joe Morales (guitar, vocals)
Alex Morales (guitar, vocals)
Leticia Perez (guitar, vocals, bass)
Frank Acevez (drums, vocals)
Chris Dodge (bass, vocals)

Other reviews

» Split album
by UK Team

Next review: » Agregator - Promo 2003
Previous review: » Agoraphobic Nosebleed - Bestial Machinery

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.