Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

A Sound Of Thunder
The Lesser Key Of Solomon
January 2015
Released: 2014, Mad Neptune
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

This prolific Metal band from Washington is back with their sixth release in just six years. I wish all bands worked that efficiently!

The intriguingly titled THE LESSER KEY OF SOLOMON is the band fourth full length and sees the steady band with few changes since last album cycle. The line-up is stable and the band is still with Mad Neptune and have yet another very cool album cover. Presentation can make all the difference especially for an independent band trying to attract fans.

The album opens with a creepy and atmospheric introduction with sound effects and voices making for a very promising start. The album has some progressive tendencies with several songs creeping into the eight to nine minute-range and the band seems to be getting heavier over time. The sounds cover a good spectrum incorporating of styles from classic Metal to Power Metal and even hints of Hard Rock. There are a few symphonic elements and a bit of acoustic guitar on the mid-tempo cut, ‘The Boy Who Could Fly’.

The songs are well written and interesting enough to keep the listeners attention. The vocals of Nina are similar in style to classic Metal singers, she doesn’t employ an operatic style of many of the European bands. Her distinct delivery make it easy to understand the above average lyrics. She has good range and power and indeed all the individual performances of the quartet are very solid.

I feel THE LESSER KEY OF SOLOMON is the first album by the band to really take a step forward from being one of the many bands in crowded genre to one that is starting to emerge from the pack.
Track Listing

1. Nexus of Realities
2. Udoroth
3. Fortune Teller
4. The Boy Who Could Fly
5. Elijah
6. Master of Pain
7. Blood From the Mummy's Tomb
8. Black Secrets
9. One Empty Grave
10. House of Bones


Nina Osegueda Vocals
Chris Haren Drums
Josh Schwartz Guitars
Jesse Keen Bass, Keyboards

Other reviews

» Out of the Darkness
by Infamousbutcher

» Queen Of Hell
by Erich

» The Lesser Key Of Solomon
by JP

Next review: » A Thousand Knives of Fire - Last Train to Scornsville
Previous review: » A Sound Of Thunder - Queen Of Hell

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.