Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Aeternum Vale
Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
October 2013
Released: 2013, Independent
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Aeternum Vale are a melodic black metal band from Dublin, Ireland with their current line up forming nearing the end of 2011and these guys have already shared the stage with bands such as Primordial, Rotting Christ, and Waylander.

Opening with a rather beautiful guitar intro, it’s not long till the deep drums kick in bringing with it the full intensity of the other members followed with the black metal vocals of Colin Byrne. This is a fantastic track to set off the atmosphere of this album. The production is done well, making it easy and clear to hear everything being played but still has a dark haunting and aggression feel which you would expect from this genre. There are some great melodies and guitar riffs throughout and from the second track takes a different path showing influences from death metal and doom metal. The album is broken up by the 4th track ‘A Last Sunrise In This Dying Sky’ which is a minute long guitar intro going back to the beginning of the album, which flows nicely into the fifth track. The album keeps on the aggressive path but seems to sway away from their original black metal elements and I find there is abit too much death in this album, especially in the vocals and abit more diversity would have been good. The members play great and sound incredibly tight.

Overall this is a great album and one I would certainly listen to again, but for me the best track was the first and the album seems to sway abit too much away from these original elements but does still have a good energy throughout, it's just if you’re going to label yourself as ‘black metal band’ make sure there is enough black metal in there to keep us dark souls happy.

Review by Jo Blackened
Track Listing

1. Smash The Pillars
2. I Take Leave Of The Sun
3. Into The Depths My Acolyte
4. A Last Sunrise In This Dying Sky
5. On Barren Soil We Fell
6. Mourning The Idol
7. In Our Darkened Hour
8. The Ghosts Of Martyrs


Vocals - Colin Byrne
Guitar - Dave Gibson
Guitar - Owen Ryan-Hanbury
Bass - Chantae Rigeaux
Drums - Dave 'Tipper' McCarron

Other reviews

» Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
by UK Team

» Ashes Of Memories
by UK Team

Next review: » Aeternus - Ascension Of Terror
Previous review: » Aeternum Vale - Ashes Of Memories

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.