Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Honkin' On BoBo
July 2004
Released: 2004, Columbia
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

OK, I’m reviewing an Aerosmith CD on Metal–Rules. Deal with it. One of The United States longest, running, best selling melodic hard rock bands of all time jump on the cover tune band wagon...with a twist.

I’m not a blues fan. I don’t think I’ve ever heard any of these so-called ‘classic’ blues songs except the big hit single “Baby Please Don’t Go”. The consequence? A whole new Aerosmith CD! The advantage of not knowing these songs is that in my mind they are now Aerosmith songs. Obviously I completely miss the point and cannot appreciate the slight nuances that may be involved with subtle variations on the originals. There is one original track but I’d be hard pressed to guess which one it was if I wasn’t told ahead of time.

Overall a rockin’ disc, great production, good ol’ Stephen screaming his lips off, and so on. When I first heard of the concept, I was worried that it might suck but the pace, tone and tempo are punchy and fun, making this disc a very decent summer listen. This will sell a billion copies so I’m sure you can pick it up cheap somewhere. Rock fans appreciate, the rest can just listen to it on classic rock radio.
Track Listing

1. Roadrunner
2. Shame, Shame, Shame
3. Eyesight to The Blind
4. Baby, Please Don’t Go
5. Never Loved A Girl
6. Back Back Train
7. You Gotta Move
8. The Grind
9. I’m Ready
10. Temperature
11. Stop Messin’ Around
Jesus Is On The Main Line


Stephen Tyler-Vocals
Joe Perry-Guitar
Brad whitford-Guitar
Tom Hamilton-Bass
Joey Kramer-Drums



Next review: » Aerosmith - Music From Another Dimension
Previous review: » Aerosmith - Gold

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.