Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Adrenaline Rush
Adrenaline Rush
October 2014
Released: 2014, Frontiers Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Stomping out of Stockholm, Sweden with an attitude like its 1986, Adrenaline Rush are a new band fronted by ex-pop singer Tave Manning (from some Euro-pop group called Peaches...whatever!). Despite the bio’s protestations that Wanning was showing her true rock soul or some such hype, I was still a bit skeptical of the band as it sounded too much like a thrown together project designed to feature a hot girl vocalist, rather than a real band.

Whatever the motivations may have been, one listen through the band’s self-title debut had me easily won over. The second that “Black ‘n Blue” kicked into gear, I was taken back to a time when bands like Motley Crue, Ratt, and the song’s namesake were riding high. I was also struck with the powerful, overdriven, clear production of the songs that makes the music burst out of the speakers – great stuff. Vocally, Tave Wanning proves she’s much more than a popstar idiot and easily handles the rocking, sleaze metal material.

Musically, the band wears their aforementioned influences proudly on their sleeves, even going so far as to sneakily rework a Motley Crue riff on the appropriately- themed, “Girls Gone Wild”. Elsewhere, “Playin’ to Win” incorporates a great Irish-sounding riff that could be a sequel to Gary Moore’s “Over the Hills and Far Away” – I didn’t expect it and it surprised me, in a good way. Then again, with the music produced and assisted by the awesome Erik Martensson of W.E.T. and Eclipse fame, this album couldn’t help but be great.

While it’s true that Adrenaline Rush are yet another ‘80s hard rock throwback, these guys and gal have the musical goods to stake their claim. There’s not a single bad song on the album, and that even includes the lone ballad. Adrenaline Rush are for real and I can’t wait to see where they go from here!
Track Listing

1. Black ‘n Blue
2. Change
3. Generation Left Behind
4. Girls Gone Wild
5. When We’re Gone
6. Want It All
7. Too Young To Die
8. Oh Yeah!
9. No No No
10. Playin’ to Win
11. Hit You Like a Rock


Tave Wanning: Vocals
Ludvig Turner: Lead Guitar
Alexander Hagman: Guitar, Vocals
Soufian Ma’Aoui: Bass, Vocals
Marcus Johansson: Drums



Other reviews

» Adrenaline Rush
by Waspman

» Soul Survivor
by Waspman

Next review: » Adrenaline Rush - Soul Survivor
Previous review: » Adrenaline Mob - We The People

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.