Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Restless and Live
April 2017
Released: 2017, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Manos X

Sometimes I feel so lucky having the privilege to review albums from bands that made me fall in love with metal. Yes, Accept is one of these bands that turned my fresh and naive ears to that powerful sound. I don’t know if it was Udo’s aggressive vocals or the always amazing guitars of Wolf Hoffman or the simplistic but hauntingly fitting drumming or maybe the kick ass and spot on songwriting. It really took me a while to figure this out, but in the end I got it! It was all of the above.

Accept is a rare beast that while having its roots in late ‘70s they choose to harden their sound as time went by. Following the steps of other mighty bands from the same era like Judas Priest and Saxon Accept managed to create a loyal fan base that never seemed forgetting them even in their hiatus years from 1989 to 1992 and from 1997 to 2005.

Accept had their ups and downs in their career and I got to confess that upon announcing their return without original singer Udo Dirkschneider I was quite skeptical. Let’s not forget their failed experiment on album “Eat the Heat” featuring the excellent voice of David Reece. While that album had good songs it was unfortunately rejected by Accept’s fan base.

However it’s been 7 years since singer Mark Tornillo (ex-TT Quick) joined their ranks and 3 albums later I must confess that Accept sound and look completely rejuvenated. Their live album “Restless and live” recorded during the “Blind Rage” tour proves just that. Featuring 27 songs (!!!!!!!!) is their best live album since the amazing “Staying a life” (released in 1990) and clearly shows that Accept and Mike Tornillo can perform everything and do justice to anything from the rich backcatalog.

Anthems like “London leatherboys”, “Fast as the shark”, “Demons night”, “Restless and wild”, “Son of a bitch” just to mention a few are delivered with surgical precision and ferociousness that only a band in their prime should possess. At the same time new songs like “200 years”, “Stampede”, “Stalingrad”, “Dark side of my heart” and many like them sound just as good live as their old tunes something that only a handful of bands can achieve.

It’s pointless mentioning the musicianship of a band like Accept. Would anyone expect anything less from guitars capable of biting your head off, monstrous bass, aggressive and meaningful drumming that elevates the whole result and singer that sounds melodic, aggressive and pissed at the same time but also has a few aces up in his sleeve. Just check out “The Curse” and you’ll get what I mean.

The sound of the album is pristine and superbly mixed. Capturing the band’s aggressive delivery but without neglecting the cheers, screams and warm applause of the audience. My only complain is that this isn’t a single performance but mostly highlights of an entire tour. However upon seeing Accept perform just a month ago (where the easily outclassed Sabatton without breaking a sweat) I can honestly say that “Restless and live” is as accurate as it can get.

Coming to this review’s end I can honestly say that as a die hard fan that “Restless and wild” is an album that captures the essence of what Accept are. Serving as the perfect appetizer till their next album (hopefully in late 2017) feel free to invest on this one with your eyes closed, strictly a buy or die.
Track Listing

CD 1
1. Stampede
2. Stalingrad
3. Hellfire
4. London Leatherboys
5. Living for Tonite
6. 200 Years
7. Demon’s Night
8. Dying Breed
9. Final Journey
10. From the Ashes We Rise
11. Losers and Winners
12. No Shelter
13. Shadow Soldiers
14. Midnight Mover

CD 2
1. Starlight
2. Restless and Wild
3. Son of a Bitch
4. Pandemic
5. Dark Side of My Heart
6. The Curse
7. Flash Rockin’ Man
8. Bulletproof
9. Fall of the Empire
10. Fast As a Shark
11. Metal Heart
12. Teutonic Terror
13. Balls to the Wall

1. Stampede
2. Stalingrad
3. London Leatherboys
4. Restless and Wild
5. Dying Breed
6. Final Journey
7. Shadow Soldiers
8. Losers and Winners
9. 200 Years
10. Midnight Mover
11. No Shelter
12. Princess of the Dawn
13. Dark Side of My Heart
14. Pandemic
15. Fast As a Shark


Mark Tornillo – vocals
Wolf Hoffmann – guitar
Uwe Lulis – guitars
Peter Baltes – bass
Christopher Williams – drums



Next review: » Accept - Stalingrad
Previous review: » Accept - Predator

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.