November 6th, 2013
by EvilG

“The Vatican,” a track off The Mediator Between Head And Hands Must Be The Heart, the new album by Brazilian band SEPULTURA, is now available for online viewing:

The translation of the Bible quote (Matthew 10:34) into English from the Latin (the official language of the Roman Catholic Church) in the video’s opening reads: “Do not think I came [to] send peace on earth; I came not to send peace, but a sword.”

“It shows various obscure facets of the church, from corruption to pedophilia, a dark side that many people like to ignore,” states SEPULTURA guitarist Andreas Kisser about the video.  “The actors were very well selected, all with strong and striking expressions.  The video tells the story of a priest who wants to leave the church because of all this dirt, and suffers pressure from the inside not to leave.  It’s rather heavy and tense.”

Directed by Rafael Kent, “The Vatican”  was shot in less than 24 hours in a building in downtown São Paulo, Brazil.

“We all know dark moments in the Catholic religion,” Kent shares. “The lyrics speak of how the Church dominates man’s mind, how many years of domination through faith have passed, and the bloody past of the Church.  We tried to have some visuals that resembled environments from the Church but were not directly in the Church. The filming also accompanies this aesthetic; we looked for darker and more obscure scenes giving the impression that the kind of thing that happens in the clip and story are things that happen on the sly.”

Kent adds:

“One of our concerns (or bets) was ‘Let’s bet on how many places the clip will be banned.’  I believe that regarding prohibition, backlash, and so on, this video clip comes with it all.”

According to an interview with the Brazilian newspaper Diario de PernambucoSEPULTURA guitarist Andreas Kisser described the song as “one of the tracks that has some death metal influences, whose lyrics tell the story of how The Vatican was created, filled with blood, orgy, murders, corruption, adultery… It’s one of the most evil and perverse lyrics I ever wrote.”

The Mediator Between Head And Hands Must Be The Heart was released on October 29th and is available for purchase from the Nuclear Blast USA Webshop, and digitally at iTunes, and Amazon MP3.

The track listing for TMBHAHMBTH is:

01. Trauma Of War
02. The Vatican
03. Impending Doom
04. Manipulation of Tragedy
05. Tsunami
06. The Bliss Of Ignorants
07. Grief
08. The Age Of The Atheist
09. Obsessed
10. Da Lama Ao Caos (Chico Science & Nação Zumbi cover)




Posted in Heavy Metal | Comments (0)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.