MORBID ANGEL – More New Album Details Revealed; New Single Due May 6th

March 10th, 2011
by EvilG

MORBID ANGEL - Trey AzagthothFrench label Season Of Mist will release the eighth studio album from Florida extreme metallers MORBID ANGEL, Illud Divinum Insanus, on June 6th internationally, June 7th in North America. The album will be released in Japan via JVC (date TBA).


Season Of Mist will release a single, ‘Nevermore’, on May 16th as 7” collectors edition vinyl and digital download.


As previously reported, Illud Divinum Insanus will include ten songs, at least three of which stretch the boundaries of what is conventional Morbid territory. was privy to a sneak peek of four tracks, including the more traditional ‘Nevermore’ and the bizarre guitar that sounds like a keyboards of ‘I Am Morbid’, which begins with live crowd chant.


Morbid Angel’s ninth album begins with the letter I, keeping with the band’s tradition of naming their albums in alphabetical order beginning with 1989′s Altars Of Madness through 2003′s Heretic. The album was tracked at Mana Recording Studios in St. Petersburg, Florida with engineer Erik Rutan (HATE ETERNAL; former Morbid Angel guitarist).


Metal Assault caught up drummer Tim Yeung at the Scion Rock Fest in Pomona, CA. It was Yeung’s first live performance with the Florida extreme metal legends and the first show in 20 years that original drummer Pete Sandoval was not on the drum stool (he’s currently recovering from back surgery).


About the new Morbid Angel album, Yeung says it’s finished and being mastered now. “It’s great, I’m really excited about it. I will be touring with them for the next year, this full album cycle. Pete’s a big inspiration to us all and he’s a very special player. I knew that the shows were big to fill, but I’m more than ready.”


Check out the chat below:


Interview With Tim Yeung From Morbid Angel by Metalassault on Mixcloud

Morbid Angel’s set-list for the Scion Rock Fest – including the brand new song ‘Nevermore’ – featured:



‘Pain Divine’

‘Maze of Torment’

‘Sworn to the Black’


‘Lord of All Fevers & Plague’

‘Immortal Rites’

‘Fall From Grace’


‘Chapel of Ghouls’



‘Dawn of the Angry’

‘Where the Slime Live’

‘Bil Ur-Sag’

‘Blood on My Hands’

‘God of Emptiness’

‘World Of Shit (The Promised Land)’


Check out fan-filmed footage below:




Posted in Death Metal | Comments (0)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.