Twisted Sister – A Twisted Christmas

Reviewed: December 2016
Released: 2006, Razor & Tie
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

For The Twelve Days of Christmas my true love gave to me…

12. Northern Light Orchestra-Celebrate Christmas
11. Notre Dame-Nightmare Before Christmas
10. Psychostick-The Flesh Eating Rollerskate Holiday Joyride
9. Raskaampaa Joulua-Raskaampaa Joulua
8. Raskasta Joulua-Raskasta Joulua
7. Raskasta Joulua-Raskasta Joulua 2
6. The Kings Of Christmas-365 Days A Year
5. The Wizards Of Winter-The Wizards Of Winter
4. Trans-Siberian Orchestra-Christmas Eve And Other Stories
3. Trans-Siberian Orchestra-The Lost Christmas Eve
2. Twisted Sister-A Twisted Christmas
1. Various Artists-Monster Ballads Christmas
13. (Bonus evil album!) Onkel Tom-Ich Glaub’ Nicht An Den Weihnachtsmann

Every year on Dec 1st, I pull out the box containing over 40 of my cherished Metal Christmas CD’s. This year I decided to review a few more for Metal-Rules. Please enjoy all of this 12 days of Christmas Metal album review feature…, plus one evil bonus review! Who says Christmas can’t be Metal?

Unlike pop music or country there are very few Hard Rock or Heavy Metal Bands that do a Christmas album. I have over 40 Christmas albums most are collections and compilations, a few are Christmas based bands (ie. TSO or Rakasta Joulua) but very few are actual bands doing a full Christmas album. Helix did one, Halford did one but Twisted Sister is one of those and probably the most famous band to do one.
A TWISTED CHRISTMAS came out back in 2006 on the Razor & Tie label with very simplistic budget packaging, no lyrics, no message from the band and one old photo that is not even related to Christmas.

There are ten songs and a brief hidden track and the whole albums 42 minutes. Those people who know Dee snider will realize this is not all that much of a stretch for Twisted Sister, for Dee the Christian, conservative, family man with traditional values, this is a no-brainer…and DEE sings the shit out of these carols. Most of the songs are pretty straight up renditions with crunchy guitar. There are a few exceptions and they tend to be the standout tracks in my mind. The opening track, ’Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’ has a comedy based intro-segment which sets the fun tone of the album complete with a bit of a DEE rap. Up next ‘Oh come All Ye Faithful’ is a ripping version and if it sounds familiar it should, as Dee has admitted in public that he basically stole the opening and some vocal melody from their biggest hit, ‘We’re Not Going To Take It’ from ‘Oh Come All Ye Faithful’. The similarity is uncanny. The band is joined by Lita Ford who does a nice duet with Dee on a version of ‘I’ll Be Home for Christmas’. Lastly and probably my favourite track, ‘Heavy Metal Christmas’, their interpretation of ‘The 12 Days Of Christmas’, with reworked with hilarious lyrics.

This is by far the weakest Twisted sister album,…but…it is not ‘really’ a Twisted Sister album meant to compete with their classic catalogue. My rating is a little low because of the novelty effect, I personally like it a lot but I would hesitate to say that every Metal fan needs to own this. It’s fun, it’s a laugh and every year I enjoy it to the max!


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
2. Oh Come All Ye Faithful
3. White Christmas
4. I’ll Be Home for Christmas
5. Silver Bells
6. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus
7. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow
8. Deck the Halls
9. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)
10. Heavy Metal Christmas (The Twelve Days of Christmas)

Dee Snider – Vocals
Jay Jay French- Guitar
Eddie Ojeda – Guitar
Mark Mendoza – Bass
AJ Pero – Drums