La Chinga – Freewheelin`

Reviewed: September 2016
Released: 2016, Independent
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Back in 2013 Canadian rockers La Chinga surprised me with a professional, ‘70s hard rockin’ debut that seemingly came out of nowhere. With traces of stoner rock and doom complementing the band’s straight head rock, it was a refreshing album, so I was pleased that the band contacted me about reviewing their sophomore effort, FREEWHEELIN’.

Album opener “Gone Gypsy” picks up right where LA CHINGA left off, with a full-throated, rolling rock groove that immediately gets toes tapping. What follows is a clinic of loud rock that will bring a smile to any fan of pure heavy music circa 1971. Personally, I am a fan of the full-on rockers like “Stoned Grease White Lightning” and “KIW”, but even the band’s quieter moments are memorable (“Faded Angel”). Indeed, the biggest growth the guys show here is in their song writing; there’s no way they could have pulled off a 10-minute epic like “Dawn of Man” on their debut but here it’s engrossing for it’s full run time and closes the album in style. That song is the most obvious sign of successful experimentation, but the album is full of cool little touches that highlight a band having fun as the progress.

Given that the band’s musicianship was already top notch, the development of their song writing skills has turned the band into a sleek rockin’ machine, much like the muscle car depicted on the album cover. Add it all up, and FREEWHEELIN’ is an improvement in every way over the already slid debut. Hard rockers rejoice and join the party!


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Gone Gypsy
2. Snakehead
3. White Witchy
4. Stoned Grease White Lightning
5. Faded Angel
6. Mount Momma
7. KIW
8. Warcry
9. Right On
10. Dawn of Man

Carl Spackler: Vocals, Bass
Ben Yardley: Guitar
Jason Solyom: Drums