Rotten Sound – Abuse to Suffer

Reviewed: April 2016
Released: 2016, Season of Mist
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

The break between 2011’s CURSED and the recently released ABUSE TO SUFFER is the longest downtime between Rotten Sound full lengths in Fins grindtastic history. But the break was apparently put to good use, as ABUSE TO SUFFER sounds like a refreshed band ready to rip you a new one.

The 16 new tracks are more focused and less ragingly crusty or schizophrenic than their last several releases. Meaner, darker, and defiantly heavier, ABUSE TO SUFFER has something to prove. Tracks like the death n’ roll vibe of “Caged”, the 2nd gear stall of “Brainwashed” and the record breaking 4:45 doom coda of “Extortion and Blackmail” prove that there’s still capacity in 2016 to do new and exciting things within the boundaries of grindcore.

Consistent with most of their full length catalog, ABUSE TO SUFFER clocks in at around 28 minutes. But the impact it leaves feels much more satisfying this time around. Definitely looking forward to hearing these songs on tour up against classics like “Feet First” and “Western Cancer”. ABUSE TO SUFFER is Rotten Sound’s first release for their new label Season of Mist, and is also available as a Deluxe edition that features a couple of bonus tracks. Regular or Deluxe, this is abuse worth suffering.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Lazy Asses
2. Intellect
3. Fear of Shadows
4. Trashmonger
5. Crooked
6. Time for the Fix
7. Slave to the Rats
8. Brainwashed
9. Cannon Fodder
10. Yellow Pain
11. Machine
12. The Clerk
13. Caged
14. Retaliation
15. Inhumane Treatment
16. Extortion and Blackmail

Q – Guitars
G – Vocals
Sami Latva – Drums
Kristian Toivainen – Bass