Judas Priest – Battle Cry (DVD)

Reviewed: April 2016
Released: 2016, Sony Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams



British heavy metal legends Judas Priest are back again with yet another live in-concert DVD to add to your collection, only this time it was filmed at Germany’s prestigious Wacken Open Air Festival, perhaps the biggest metal gathering in the world. The stage is enormous, the visuals are stunning and the band is on full throttle delivering hit after hit alongside newer material such as “Dragonaut” “Halls of Valhalla” & “Redeemer of Souls”.

The folks at Wacken really spared no expense in terms of making this headlining appearance a full-on production. You really have to question whether or not Priest have ever appeared on a more blockbuster stage setup than what they enjoyed at Wacken Open Air. Simply put…Massive.

In terms of stage presence, this is the same Priest we have come to expect in recent years. For the most part the band really doesn’t move around all that much, certainly not like they used to in the seventies or eighties and yes the teleprompter is in tow to assist with the newer material but at the end of the day feel lucky we still have a Judas Priest to witness in concert! Guitarist Richie Faulkner (Although he will never be KK Downing) breathes new life into the band and maintains an energetic persona on-stage while delivering face-melting solos. (Just in case you were wondering, SPOILER ALERT yes Rob Halford does bring out the Harley Davidson on “Hell Bent For Leather”)

Also of note is that the DVD’s final three tracks “Screaming For Vengeance” “The Rage” and “Desert Plains” were all filmed during the band’s performance in Gdansk, Poland at the Ergo Arena on December 10, 2015.

I would recommend the BATTLE CRY DVD to all fans of heavy metal. Judas Priest is a flagship band of the metal cause, pioneers even and every headbanger should own a sizable collection of Priest albums, videos and DVD’s (BATTLE CRY is no exception to this rule) The tracklisting rules, the stage setup rules, the band fucking rules. Do yourself a favor and secure your copy today!


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. (Intro) Battle Cry
2. Dragonaut
3. Metal Gods
4. Devil’s Child
5. Victim of Changes
6. Halls of Valhalla
7. Turbo Lover
8. Redeemer of Souls
9. Beyond the Realms of Death
10. Jawbreaker
11. Breaking the Law
12. Hell Bent for Leather
13. The Hellion
14. Electric Eye
15. You’ve Got Another Thing Coming
16. Painkiller
17. Living After Midnight
18. Screaming for Vengeance
19. The Rage
20. Desert Plains

Technical Details:
Format Reviewed:
Run Time: n/a
Screen: n/a
Sound: n/a
Production Year: 2016