Necropsy – Buried In The Woods

Reviewed: December 2015
Released: 2015, Xtreem Music
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

The second album from these resurrected Finnish vets offers a rather familiar sound that brings together old school Swedish rawness, Bolt Thrower-like groove and the utter nastiness of brutal death metal while adding some welcome finesse and dexterity.

The band’s history goes all the way back to death metal’s glory days of the late ’80s/early ’90s, but they split in 1994 after a host of demos and an EP. It wasn’t until Necropsy reanimated in 2008 that they finally released a full album – 2011’s Bloodwork. So the band have some serious lost time to make up for and have gone back to their roots to do so.

Buried In The Woods is a corrosive concoction of bone-saw riffs and imposing d-beat/double-bass chug that maintains a brisk, but controlled pace to maximize the music’s heaviness – a la Bolt Thrower. The title track, the ironic “Best Day Ever,” the oddly titled “Full Moon Catlin” and the even more bizarre “Cold Fart Morbidity” – perhaps something got lost in the Finnish to English translation – deliver plenty of rib-busting crunch as the grooves just keep coming. The band here prove themselves to be as persistent as they are tenacious.

Frontman Tero Kosonen’s grisly rasp lends an extra brutal air to everything here – especially the slower, almost doomier “Dead Inherit The Land” and the fantastic Death-like epic closer “Father Heresy.” His John Tardy/Chris Barnes-like delivery often sounds more like muttered growls and groans than actual lyrics, but is effectively horrific.

In contrast, the guitar work of Janne Kosonen and Sami Heinonen offers some welcome nuance, with nifty lead breaks and occasional melodic sweeps making Buried In The Woods more than just an exercise in traditional brutality, delivering a modern twist and even a bit of elegance – even to something like “Cold Fart Morbidity.”


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Buried In The Woods
2. Cold Fart Morbidity
3. Just Sharpen My Knife
4. Dead Inherit The Land
5. Full Moon Catlins
6. Pages Of Flesh
7. Best Day Ever
8. Father Heresy

Tero Kosonen – vocals
Janne Kosonen – lead guitar
Sami Heinonen – lead guitar
Ville Vartiainen – bass
Hannu Väänänen – drums