Fuck the Facts – Abandoned

Reviewed: March 2015
Released: 2014, Noise Salvation
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

For my money, Quebec’s Fuck the Facts is one of the most respectable and underrated bands in the underground – period. For 15 years, these merchants of grind have cut their own path and released a substantial body of work on their own terms. That DIY ethos continues with ABANDONED, the band’s latest EP and the first release through FTF’s own Noise Salvation label. Continuing to deliver uncompromising quality, ABANDONED is another excellent appetizer of grind.

Opener “Endless Emptiness” follows the melodic inclinations previously introduced on the AMER EP, but balances those sensibilities with reckless hostility and some dark, pounding grooves. “Disabused” is a more straightforward blaster, buoyed with dizzying guitar solos and locomotive like riffing. “L’impasse” closes the EP with a barrage of atonal dissonance, frantic starts/stops and wave of feedback. Collectively, ABANDONED is a quick fix of aggression, but its brevity doesn’t negate its appeal.

Though the limited pressings of 100 cassettes have long been sold out, you’re in luck, because ABANDONED is available digitally for a price equivalent to pocket change. Along with genre leaders like Napalm Death, Pig Destroyer, and Rotten Sound, Fuck the Facts’ appeal has transcended the confines of grindcore, offering up plenty to like to fans of anything extreme . You like heavy? You’ll love ABANDONED.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Endless Emptiness
2. Disabused
3. L’impasse

Topon Das – Guitars
Mel Mongeon – Vocals
Matheiu Vilandré – Drums
Marc Bourgon – Bass. Vocals
Johnny Ibay – Lead Guitars