Ugly Kid Joe Is Back With “Stairway to Hell”: Album Out Today


Check out the video for “I’m Alright”

It’s been a long time since rock legends Ugly Kid Joe have released an album, but the wait has ended.The California band’s critically acclaimed EP, Stairway to Hell, is being released today through MRI, and it contains songs that span the full repertoire of influences that made Ugly Kid Joe the soundtrack for young snowboarders, surfers, and keggers worldwide.

The first video from Stairway to Hell, “I’m Alright,” has been racking up the YouTube hits since its release earlier this year. Stairway to Hell is streaming all week on AOL Music’s Listening Party as well as MSN Music’s Listening Booth.

Stairway to Hell: AOL Listening Party | MSN Listening Booth

 “I’m Alright”: Video (Please Share)


Ugly Kid Joe‘s stratospheric rise came about soon after their formation in 1990. After signing to Mercury Records, the band released the EP As Ugly As They Wanna Be. On the strength of the hit single “Everything About You,” it went on to sell over a million copies in the U.S., becoming the highest selling debut EP of all time and the first EP in history to be certified Platinum. In 1992, UKJ released America’s Least Wanted  which became a double-platinum phenomenon, and saw the band tour worldwide supporting legends such as Ozzy Osbourne and Van Halen. Two more albums were to come out, 1995’s Menace To Sobriety and 1996’s Motel California, before UKJ decided to take a hiatus.


Of Stairway to Hell, says“That decade-plus the Ugly Kid Joe members spent playing professionally is immediately evident here,” while Pittsburgh Music Magazine reports “The fact that they still sound so strong and intense even after 15 years is remarkable. Expectations be damned: Ugly Kid Joe are back.”


Whether it’s the hypnotic riffery of “Devil’s Paradise”, the melodic power-fueled darkness of “No One Survives” or the irrepressibly chuggin’ chorus of “I’m Alright,” Stairway to Hell makes it clear that Ugly Kid Joe has everything they started with, and have added fatter chops and a superior grip on songwriting to their arsenal.

Ugly Kid Joe is:

Whitfield Crane (vocals)

Cordell Crockett (bass)

Klaus Eichstadt (guitars)

Dave Forman (guitars)

Shannon Larkin (drums)

Stairway to Hell track listing:


Devil’s Paradise

You Make Me Sick

No One Survives

I’m Alright

Love Ain’t True

Another Beer

Cat In the Cradle (acoustic)

Would You Like To Be There (acoustic)

No One Survives (acoustic)

EPK (video)*

It’s Alright (video)*



About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →