Wardrum – Desolation

Reviewed: January 2013
Released: 2012, Steel Gallery
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Despite a rough few years for the Greek economy it was a killer year for Greek Metal. It is no secret that in many societies when times are tough, the disenchanted youth turn to the only music that matters…Heavy Metal. Wardrum is a young band and they have released their second album DESOLATION on the Steel Gallery label.

There has been a significant change since last years debut SPADEWORK and that is a new lead singer in the form of Yannis Papadopolous who is also in a couple of other bands, Crosswind and Until Rain. I like his voice slightly better than the previous guy.

Other than that Wardrum have delivered another excellent Power Metal album, free of any major flaws or deficiencies. The pace of the album is quite quick, moving along with purpose and intensity but also with a good sense of melody and song structure. The songs are fairly conventional in terms of arrangement, but the strength of the riffs and individual performances make up for the traditional songs. I thought the drumming was well above average too with lots of busy cymbal work which I enjoy.

I don\’t have a ton to say about this excellent band. The songs are good. The individual performances are good. The production is good. They have a good sound and I feel with a bit more experience they have enormous potential to be one of the strongest bands in the Greek Power Metal scene.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Unforgiving
2. Sign of Treason
3. Parental
4. Common Ground
5. Tide Lakes
6. Higher Sky
7. F.A.I.T.H.
8. Urban Storm
9. No Retreat
10. Abound in Nothing
11. Sailing Away
12. Rainy Day

Yannis Papadopoulos Vocals
Kosta Vreto Guitar
Kostas Skandalis Bass
Stergios Kourou Drums