Empires Of Eden – Channelling The Infinite

Reviewed: January 2013
Released: 2012, Cargo
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

It took me a while to get to this album, but better late than never. Released in June, EMPIRES OF EDEN is among many, many excellent Power/Trad Metal albums from Australia this year. Stu Marshall after leaving Dungeon, has really established himself as a powerhouse writer and performer and this time he has recruited an incredible global army of support for his third album, CHANNELLING THE INFINITE.

I know it’s a bit of a dull way to ‘sell’ an album but let’s make a list. Guests that appear on this album are…

Udo Dirkschneider (Accept, U.D.O.)
Rob Rock (Impellitteri, Driver)
Steve Grimmett (Grim Reaper, Lionsheart)
Mike Dimeo (Masterplan, Riot)
Sean Peck (Cage)
Carlos Zema (Outworld, Vougan)
Ronny Munroe (TSO, Metal Church)
Alessandro Del Vecchio (Edge of Forever)
Danny Cecati (Eyefear, Pegazus)
Louie Gorgievski (Crimsonfire)
Vo Simpson (Darker Half)
Shane French (Millennium)

If that doesn’t give you a full-on Metal chubby, then you are not a Metal fan. If you can’t find something appealing about the all-star firepower on this record, you might be on the wrong web-site! Let’s break it down even more song by song…

1. Cry Out (vocals by Rob Rock)

2. Hammer Down (vocals by Udo Dirkschneider)

3. This Time (vocals by Steve Grimmett)

4. Channelling the Infinite (vocals by Sean Peck)

5. Lions for Lambs (vocals by Alessandro Del Vecchio)

6. Cyborg (vocals by Carlos Zema)

7. World on Fire (vocals by Louie Gorgievski)

8. Your Eyes (vocals by Mike Dimeo)

9. Born A King (vocals by Danny Cecati)

10. As Flames Scorch The Ground (vocals by Vo Simpson)

11. White Wings (vocals by Ronny Munroe)
12. Hammer Down All star version (Bonus track) (vocals by UDO, Rob Rock,
Sean Peck, Carlos Zema, Vo Simpson, Ronny Munroe)

13. Born A King (bonus track) (vocals by Sean Peck)

However, having said all that, if the songs and performances are not of sufficiently high caliber, no amount of guest stars can salvage a poorly written or performed album. Fortunately, the guests were given an enormous amount of fantastic material to work with and CHANNELLING THE INFINITE is a fantastic album. Stu has written some scintillating Power Metal songs.

One of the album highlights is the bonus track believe it or not; is the all-star version of ‘Hammer Down’ where a bunch of the gang get in on the vocal action. Udo handles the ‘regular’ version which is still a raging track. It’s always nice to hear his rasp outside of U.D.O. Among the many highlights are the soaring vocals of Vo Simpson, a relative newcomer of the Aussie band Dark Half. He can really sing and plays some really nice swirling solos overtop the relentless drumming. The song is a firestorm of Metal buried at track 10.

The production is great, the tempos are fast, the vocals are soaring, the leads are ripping and there are even some orchestrated symphonic parts for full audio impact. Dense, intense and fully immense, this album is loaded with power, great harmonies and melodies and soaring songs. Stu Marshall has channelled some sort of infinite Metal power into this album and it is a total winner.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Cry Out
2. Hammer Down
3. This Time
4. Channelling the Infinite
5. Lions for Lambs
6. Cyborg
7. World on Fire
8. Your Eyes
9. Born A King
10. As Flames Scorch the Ground
11. White Wings
12. Hammer Down All Star Version (Bonus)
13. Born a King (Bonus)

Stu Marshall Guitars, Bass
Jasix Drums