The SONATA ARCTICA video for “I Have A Right” – directed by Tuukka Tenmonen – is now available for viewing on the band’s YouTube channel and below.


Sonata Arctica - Stones Grow Her Name
Sonata Arctica - Stones Grow Her Name

The song comes from the Finnish melodic metallers’ seventh studio album, Stones Grow Her Name, due out in North America on May 22nd & in Europe on May 18th.


Vocalist, lyricist, and songwriter Tony Kakko shares some background on the song & the video:


“’I Have A Right’ was the very last song I wrote for this album.  At that point, Tommy [Portimo, drummer] had already played his last track for Stones Grow Her Name, gotten ready to go to sauna AND opened his first beer for that night, when I [texted] him to check his e-mail and record yet one more ‘easy track.’  He was mildly pissed.  And perhaps fueled by that, he nailed the song on the first take. It was a very emotional moment for him, I was told.  The song hits home, if you know the subject and can relate to it.  To put it short, it’s a song about how we should not pass the burden we get from the past generation onto the shoulders of our future offspring.  It’s a Children’s Rights subject.  Not the most metal subject ever, I suppose, but then again, I think it fits our band well and is pretty universal.  Funny to actually have fans from each age group that this songs speaks about.  Let’s see what comes of it.

“Choosing the first single and video from this album was not very easy this time around, as we had so many candidates – the best possible problem to have!  ‘I Have A Right’ won the vote.

“The playing parts for this video were shot in our home town Kemi, here in Finland.  The location was an old, abandoned school building, somehow spooky and COLD.  It was mid-March.  Could say we were lucky the weather was unseasonably warm, yet way below zero.

“Director Tuukka Temonen and his crew did a great job with editing and all the additional footage.  All in all, from my point of view, this was the easiest ever SONATA ARCTICA video to make. No twelve hours standing in a room filled with bird shit, no freezing my ass off on the ice in the middle of the sea from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. or running in the woods in the middle of the night and not sleeping for 48 hours… I had all that with the past videos.


“I am more than pleased.  I hope you like the song and video as much as we do.  See you on tour, folks!”

Stones Grow Her Name was recorded in several studios all over Finland, mixed at Sonic Pump Studios by Mikko Karmila, and mastered at Chartmakers by Svante Forsbäck.


The track listing for the new album is:


01. Only The Broken Hearts (Make You Beautiful)

02. Shitload Of Money

03. Losing My Insanity

04. Somewhere Close To You

05. I Have A Right

06. Alone In Heaven

07. The Day

08. Cinderblox

09. Don’t Be Mean

10. Wildfire, Part II – One With The Mountain

11. Wildfire, Part III – Wildfire Town, Population: 0


Bonus Track for Deluxe Digi-Pak version ONLY:

12. Tonight I Dance Alone


Watch Part 1 of Part 2 of “The Making Of: Stones Grow Her Name” on SONATA ARCTICA’s YouTube channel.



Visit SONATA ARCTICA online at:



About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →