Norwegian Progressive Metal Quintet CIRCUS MAXIMUS to Release New Album “NINE” on June 5, 2012

Five Years in the Making, New LP From Oslo’s Technical Masters is “An Absolute Tour de Force” of Forward-Thinking Metal Music

World famous prog-metal pioneers CIRCUS MAXIMUS will release their highly anticipated new album Nine in North America on June 5 via Frontiers Records. The long awaited follow up to 2007’s critically admired concept album “Isolate”, Nine delivers ten monolithic tracks of advanced metal featuring layers of gargantuan guitars, supercharged synths, soaring vocals and heavyweight hooks that will surely find appeal with fans of Opeth, Dream Theater, Symphony X, Queensryche, Fates Warning and more.


“The majority of the material on the new record was written by (guitarist) Mats Haugen and he has taken the music to a kind of simpler and more accessible approach, yet kept the progressive elements and the “nerve” that is Circus Maximus” says drummer Truls Haugen. “We’re actually both heavier and more melodic on this new record than we’ve ever been. After all this time we are ready to unleash our new monster!”


The track listing for CIRCUS MAXIMUS’ Nine is as follows:


1.) Forging

2.) Architect Of Fortune

3.) Namaste

4.) Game Of Life

5.) Reach Within

6.) I Am

7.) Used

8.) The One

9.) Burn After Reading

10.) Last Goodbye


The new song ‘Reach Within’ will be released as a single worldwide on April 27 and a video for the song is also in the works and is expected to premiere soon. CIRCUS MAXIMUS will perform selected live shows this summer before launching a full scale world tour in support of the new album later this year.

“We will definitely represent this album live to the whole world”, concludes Haugen. “We will do more live shows and more touring than ever and we really cant wait to get back on the road!”

In addition to Truls Haugen, CIRCUS MAXIMUS features Michael Eriksen (vocals), Lasse Finbråten (keyboards), Mats Haugen (guitars) and Glen Cato Møllen (bass).




About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →