Is this SABATON’s Big Risk? An album sung in Swedish?

What do you think?

[poll id=”3″]


Sabaton - "Carolus Rex"
Sabaton - "Carolus Rex"

“Carolus Rex”, the new album from Swedish metallers SABATON, will be released in Europe on May 25 via Nuclear Blast Records. The lyrics for the CD deal with the Swedish Empire (referring to the Kingdom of Sweden between 1561 and 1721) and are sung entirely in Swedish.

Commented the band: “For the first time ever we have had an expert to help us out with the theme, the well-known Swedish historian Bengt Liljegren. We have also added some extra time in the studio to find the absolute right sound on ‘Carolus Rex’, and our producer, Peter Tägtgren, says that this album will mark a brand new standard for how a heavy metal album should sound like!”

Liljegren’s previously published works include acclaimed biographies of Adolf Hitler and Karl XII. He also appeared in the popular Swedish TV series “Boston Tea Party”.

“Carolus Rex” track listing:

01. Dominium Maris Baltici

02. Lejonet Från Norden

03. Gott Mit Uns

04. En Livstid I Krig

05. 1 6 4 8

06. Karolinens Bön

07. Carolus Rex

08. Ett Slag Färgat Rött

09. Poltava

10. Konungens Likfärd

11. Ruina Imperii


The album’s release will be followed by a two-year world tour.

SABATON will embark on a North American headlining tour in the spring. The “Swedish Empire Tour 2012” will kick off on April 10 in Tampa, Florida.

SABATON bassist Pär Sundström was forced to sit out several shows on the Canadian leg of the band’s most recent North American tour due to a knee injury.

“World War Live: Battle Of The Baltic Sea”, the first-ever live album from SABATON, was released on August 5, 2011 via Nuclear Blast Records.



About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →