VOIVOD – Away Talks About New Album!

VOIVOD drummer Michel “Away” Langevin has checked in with a new video called Optical Vortex – Episode One. During the clip he says that the band are continuing writing new material and are expected to record in January, with hopes to release a new album in the summer of 2012 before they hit the road again. Away also talks about the upcoming release of their original demo tape from 1984 titled To The Death 84 and the 17th edition of the Roadburn Festival, where Voivod will transport you into Dimension Hatröss as part of their special headline show during the Au-delà du Réel event on Friday, April 13, 2012 at the 013 venue in Tilburg, Holland.


VOIVOD - To The Death 84 Demo
VOIVOD - To The Death 84 Demo

To The Death 84, the album was recorded in the band’s Quebec jam space in January of 1984. The lineup for this record includes Snake (Denis Bélanger) on vocals, Piggy (Denis D’Amour) on guitar, Blacky (Jean-Yves Thériault) on bass and Away (Michel Langevin) on drums.

Aside from material that would later appear on the band’s War and Pain debut, this collection includes several other early Voivod offerings, as well as covers of MERCYFUL FATE and VENOM.

To the Death 1984 will be released on November 22nd as a CD or double LP via Alternative Tentacles.


The tracklisting is as follows:


‘Condemned To The Gallows’

‘Hell Driver’

‘Live For Violence’

‘War And Pain’


‘Buried Alive’ / ‘Suck Your Bone’


‘Slaughter In A Grave’

‘Nuclear War’

‘Black City’

‘Iron Gang’


‘Bursting Out’

‘Warriors Of Ice’



About EvilG

Owner of Metal-Rules.com
View all posts by EvilG →