While Heaven Wept – Fear Of Infinity

Reviewed: July 2011
Released: 2011, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Metal-Rules.com UK Team

Virginia, USA based metal act While Heaven Wept used to be one of the best-kept secrets of the underground until they released “Vast Oceans Lachrymose“ in 2009 which gained them a huge cult following! Since the band opted to leave the more doomy side of their sound behind and go for timeless, progressive and epic metal structures when it comes to songwriting for this album “Fear Of Infinity“, their first release for Nuclear Blast Records.

The opening track “Hour Of Reprisal” starts off the album with strong vocals and superb tempo. It brings us beautifully into the more powerful and heavier track “Destroyer Of Solace”. “Obsessions Now Effigies” is very melodic and has a doom style feel to it, before the guitar solos where it speeds up a bit.
“Unplenitude” is a very soft, slow and melodic track which is lovely and relaxing to listen to. “To Grieve Forever” starts off in a similar style with haunting lyrics, superb guitar solos. “Saturn And Sacrifice” has deeper heavier guitars, bass lines and lyrics. It speeds up the pace of the album and “Finality” is a epic 11 minute long track that finished off the album in a melodic rock style, featuring some great guitar work and lyrics.

This album is a great production and should become a classic in its own right. If you like the style of Rush, Rainbow Scorpions and so one this album is for you!

Review by Shelia Hamilton


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Hour Of Reprisal
02. Destroyer Of Solace
03. Obsessions Now Effigies
04. Unplenitude
05. To Grieve Forever
06. Saturn And Sacrifice
07. Finality

Tom Phillips (Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals)
Jim Hunter (Bass, Vocals)
Rain Irving (Lead Vocals)
Trevor Schrotz(Drums)
Scott Loose (Guitar)
Jason Lingle (Keyboards, Vocals)
Michelle Schrotz (Keyboards, Vocals)




About Metal-Rules.com UK Team

View all posts by Metal-Rules.com UK Team →