Norther – Circle Regenerated

Reviewed: July 2011
Released: 2011, Century Media Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Forming in 2009 this is their sixth official album, being the first not to feature vocalist/guitarist Petri Lindroos, replacing him with former ‘Imperanon’ frontman Aleksi Sihvonen aswell as ‘Naildown’ guitarist Daniel Freyburg so there is no doubt fans have been waiting in anticipation for this albums release.

It is no wonder these Finnish guys have been compared to Children of Bodom, you can clearly hear the influences with the music and guitars being the main focus on this album, but I have to say there is no real comparison to the real thing.
These guys don’t seem to be as hard as their previous releases and seem to be going for a more ‘mainstream’ approach, especially with the clean vocals and lyrics.

I do think Aleksi has a great voice but the album seems to be unoriginal with the album losing energy throughout, with the feeling there is just something missing here. There is no doubt this band have talent, they do have some impressive guitar riffs, keyboards and solos but this album really didn’t do anything for me to be honest, especially with there being better music out there; like Children of Bodom.

All the tracks are pretty much the same throughout the album, but track 10 \’Closing in\’ did get my attention and really is a great track; more aggressive vocals with the keyboards giving a great melodic feel, showing a better variation in the clean/aggressive vocal style; shame the rest of the album wasn\’t more like this really.

Im sure there are many metallers out there who will enjoy this album, and their different approach will attract a new audience.

Review by Jo Blackened


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Through It All (03:48)
02. The Hate I Bear (04:06)
03. Truth (04:04)
04. Some Day (04:49)
05. Break Myself Away (04:05)
06. Believe (04:23)
07. Falling (04:21)
08. We Do Not Care (04:16)
09. The Last Time (04:14)
10. Closing In (05:49)

Aleksi Sihvonen – Lead Vocals
Kristian Ranta – Guitar, Clean Vocals
Daniel Freyberg – Guitar, Vocals
Jukka Koskinen – Bass, Vocals
Tuomas Planman – Keyboards
Heikki \”Kermis\” Saari – Drums




About UK Team

View all posts by UK Team →