Ingested – The Surreption

Reviewed: July 2011
Released: 2011, Candlelight Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

On first hearing this album it immediately got my attention and I was impressed with the aggression of the opening track ‘Crowning The Abomination‘ with vocalist Jay Evans using strong aggressive screams and growls, I was happy listening away but after the first few tracks, I seemed to lose interest.

Yes this is a genre I tend to love, the more extreme, aggressive and brutal a band are, the happier I am and despite ‘Ingested’ being an Extreme Death Metal band they also have strong Deathcore elements. The various vocals styles did hold my attention throughout and there are impressive fast and furious drumming but I found the songs slightly repetitive and predictable.

I do love ‘Jay Evans’ brutal death metal growls, grunts, aggressive scream & im sure I heard a pig squeal on occasion, wish there was more of that really, with some slight melodic sounds in there towards the end, ending the album on a slower note.

The album does have guest appearances by Alex Erian (Despised Icon) and Mathew Jones (Martyr Defiled) which are impressive, but for me the album suffered from lack of originality. It was a bit of a roller-coaster ride for me really, starting to take off & enjoying, then losing interest, then finding it to pick up again…I can’t say I didn’t enjoy this album, cause I did, I just think it will appeal more to the younger generation of the Extreme Death Metal genre with older fans feeling they’ve heard all this before.

Review by Jo Blackened


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Crowning The Abomination
02. Decline
03. The Consequence
04. A Coming Unperceived
05. The Disgusting Revelation
06. Castigation And Rebirth
07. 22
08. Manifesting Obscenity
09. Kingmaker
10. The Alpha
11. Omega

Jay Evans – Vocals
Sam Yates – Guitar/Vocals
Lyn Geffs – Drums




About UK Team

View all posts by UK Team →