Hyperrealist Reissue BLACK TUSK’S ‘The Fallen Kingdom’ LP

Savannah, GA-based label Hyperrealist Records (who have released landmark albums from Baroness, Skeletonwitch, Kylesa, Thou, and Alcest) have teamed up with longtime allies BLACK TUSK to reissue the trio’s out-of-print release The Fallen Kingdom. The record first saw the light of day in 2007, and served as the catalyst for what would come to be known as “swamp metal” – the tag BLACK TUSK have coined for the high-intensity metal attack, sludgy stomp, punk rock fury, and down’n’dirty rock’n’roll swagger that make up their signature sound. Imagine Motorhead and High on Fire crashing into a bar fight with His Hero Is Gone, and you’ve got a good idea of what you’re in for.

The album is now available for purchase at this location: www.hyperrealist.com/index.php

The pressing will be limited to 1000, with 500 copies on Yellow/500 on Black. The Fallen Kingdom was recorded and mixed at the fabulous Jam Room Studio in Columbia, SC, and marks the first time BLACK TUSK worked in the studio with producer Phillip Cope. This is the first time these 8 songs have been released on vinyl, and the record also features original artwork by John Dyer Baizley.

BLACK TUSK has forged the unmistakable “Savannah metal sound” into something very much their own. Formed in the winter of 2005, BlackTusk is Athon on bass, Andrew on guitar, and James on drums. The band’s triple-vocal attack is borne of their solid background in punk, but all three
members of BLACK TUSK have deep roots in classic metal and rock. The band’s most recent full-length, Taste the Sin, was released in 2010 by Relapse Records, and garnered rave reviews for its in-your-face, high-energy assault. Terrorizer Magazine has praised their “seething morass of rimy grimness and dystopian squalor,ending somewhere on the battlefield ‘twixt the likes of Cursed and Kylesa, deploying muscular speedbursts and slow sludgecrawls with equal skill,” while Rocksound applauded them as “another treat from Savannah’s fine metal cannon, are prepared to die
for their art – and they’re happy for you to watch.”

The trio has gained a formidable reputation for their explosive live shows and road doggin’ ways, extensively touring the United States and Canada with fellow Savannahians Baroness and Kylesa, as well as other nationally known acts; Crowbar, Fu Manchu, Black Cobra, Zoroaster, Dark Castle, Skeletonwitch, Valient Thorr, Deadbird, Weedeater, Maylene and the Sons of Disaster. The band are currently gearing up for a Japanese tour this fall, and working on their next LP for Relapse Records.

Tracklisting for The Fallen Kingdom:

1. Unchanged
2. Suicide Pact
3. Head in a Noose
4. Facedriver
5. Triumph of the Wolves
6. Way Past Dead
7. For the Dying
8. The Ending of Light
Recorded and mixed @ The Jam Room Studio in Columbia, SC in 2006.
Produced by Phillip Cope
Engineered by Jay Matheson and Steve Slavich
Artwork by John Dyer Baizley

Hyperrealist Records
Hyperealist on Facebook
Hyperrealist on Myspace



About EvilG

Owner of Metal-Rules.com
View all posts by EvilG →