ORIGIN: Track by Track Commentary Part 3

Technical death masters, ORIGIN, have released third of three track by track commentaries concerning their highly anticipated new album Entity. Part 3 is as follows:

“9. Banishing Illusion


Paul Ryan: Our grind song. S.O.D. meets NAPALM DEATH meets CRYPTIC SLAUGHTER. Just fucking fun to play!


10. Consequence of Solution
John Longstreth: Epic #2. Lots of parts, kind of like ‘Phantom of the Opera’ by IRON MAIDEN. See if you can pick out my Pete Sandoval tribute.  A lot of new ideas surfacing on this one.  It’s almost like a montage of what you might hear on the next album.

Paul Ryan: The beginning of the song up to the thunder storm was the first thing written for the album and the rest was the last for us to finish. The most changes in a song we have ever done. Really excited about how this came out and what our fans will think. Rob Rebeck did a amazing Job!!!
Mike Flores: I think this may have been the first song Paul started to show me back in May of ‘09. It was just a short piece then.
11. Evolution Of Extinction

John Longstreth: For me, this song is all about flow.  Very back beat oriented. This guy has deep pockets. It should make the ladies dance, the men headbang, and the kids tear each other to hreds.  Some more groove in the end just in case you forgot. SOMEONE likes BOLT THROWER.

Paul Ryan: Its got all the riffs for all the right moods. You can headbang. You can throwdown in the pit to it and  for the ladys you can shake your backside to it!

Mike Flores: One of my favorites. Definitely dig the topic.
12. You Fail

John Longstreth: The quickest written song on the album.  I started making dinner while Paul was playing with the arpeggio bendy bit in my living room.  I think he had the entire thing complete by the time I had tacos made. Oh yea, black metal.

Paul Ryan: This song was written in about a day with a couple riffs that were just on the back burner. One of my favorite riffs is the arpeggio w the bend!!! Just thrown together and it worked! RABID TERADACTYL VOCALS!!!”

Look for Entity in both physical and digital formats on June 7 (N. America) and June 10 (Europe). Artwork (attached) was handled this time around by Colin Marks.

Entity Track Listing:
1. Expulsion Of Fury
2. Purgatory
3. Conceiving Death
4. Swarm
5. Saliga
6. The Descent
7. Fornever
8. Committed
9. Banishing Illusion
10. Consequence Of Solution
11. Evolution Of Extinction

ORIGIN recently uploaded video blogs chronicling the making of their  upcoming masterpiece entitled Entity. Check out Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3.
One of the most intense and technical forces of the contemporary death metal world, ORIGIN has returned to stake its claim as the leader of metal’s new wave of extremity with its fifth studio effort. As expected, the death grind trio of Mike Flores (bass, vocals), Paul Ryan (guitar, vocals) and John Longstreth (drums) continues to churn out frantic, hell-paced grids of metal torment, but now further complements the arrangements with a newfound propensity for churning grooves and the hook-laden approach that first reared its ugly, but accessible head on the band’s 2007 offering, Antithesis. The band once again returned to Chapman Recording Studios in Lenexa, Kansas to work with longtime engineer and friend Robert Rebeck.

As stated multiple times in the past, ORIGIN proves once again that they stand head and shoulders above their peers.

Catch the band, with their new frontman Jason Keyser, on tour with HATE ETERNAL, VITAL REMAINS and ABYSMAL DAWN in North America starting on June 15 at Emo’s in Austin, Texas. Look for ORIGIN on the road in Europe, South America, Mexico, Asia, Australia and the rest of the world in 2011 and 2012.

For more info visit: www.myspace.com/Origin666 | www.facebook.com/Origin



About EvilG

Owner of Metal-Rules.com
View all posts by EvilG →