ACROSS THE SUN release first single; unveil album art for “Before The Night Takes Us”

“Like” ACROSS THE SUN’s Facebook page to hear “Song for the Hopeless”

Portland, Oregon’s Across The Sun recorded their Metal Blade Records debut album, Before The Night Takes Us, with producer Daniel Castleman at Lambesis Studios in San Diego, CA. The album is the culmination of seven years of recording, touring and polishing their sound. Daniel Castleman held each member to a high standard in the studio; “It was an amazing learning experience; no previous Across The Sun recording process has ever been this in depth”, adds vocalist Brandon Davis. The individual performances are better than any previous Across The Sun release. Guitarist Sam Hafer emphasizes, “This record takes everything that Across The Sun was and expands it; the musicianship, the tonal palette, the dynamics and song structure were all things we pushed into new and challenging territory. The result is the greatest body of music we have produced to date.” Their performance, coupled with Castleman’s stellar mixing/mastering, produced a “big” sounding album. Everything from Davis’ clean vocals, Hafer’s guitar solos, and Murray’s keys have an engrossing and epic breadth.

Fans can now get a taste of the album via The first single, Song for the Hopeless, is available via “Liking” their page. This first song is exemplary of the rest of the album in that it showcases Across The Sun’s musical peaks and valleys and some of their most heavy and melodic moments. Head HERE to “Like” and listen now!

Before The Night Takes Us will be available on March 15th, 2011 in North America. Pre-orders with t-shirt bundles will be available soon through Metal Blade Records’ brand new webstore. In addition, Across The Sun will soon be announcing North American tour dates in support of the album.

Before The Night Takes Us track listing:

1. Tipping The Scales

2. Song for the Hopeless

3. Seasons

4. Descent & Discovery

5. Ghost of Grandeur

6. Before the Night Takes Us

7. A Moment of Clarity

8. Blessing in Disguise

9. In the Face of Adversity

10. Belay My Judgment

Keep up with Across The Sun at the following locations:



About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →